Blog Tour Review: Now She’s Gone

Posted 2nd June 2018 by Emma in Blog Tours, Reviews / 0 Comments

Blog Tour Review: Now She's Gone

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour Review: Now She’s GoneNow She's Gone by Alison James
Also by this author: The Lying Kind
Series: Detective Rachel Prince #2
Also in this series: The Lying Kind
Published by Bookouture on 31st May 2018
Genres: Crime, Suspense, Thriller
Pages: 307
Format: eARC
Source: from Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon

She took a mouthful of the sweet liquid and started to feel a pounding in her head. Arms went around her waist and she was half lifted and half pulled. The last thing she was aware of was her head hitting a step…

Sixteen-year-old Emily had everything to live for. A bright, beautiful teenager with a promising future ahead of her. But in one night her life is cut short. The police say it’s an accident. But her parents think she was murdered.

When Detective Rachel Prince is called in to investigate the shocking death at the height of the Edinburgh festival, her instincts tell her that things are not as they first appear. Something is very wrong.

As the case takes an unexpected turn, Rachel discovers a chilling link with the suspicious death of another international student, who stayed in the same house as Emily two years before.

Just as Rachel finds herself on the hunt for a serial killer, a painful relationship from her own past catches up with her. And Rachel must decide what is more important – catching the killer or keeping her own secrets?

A breath-taking, tense roller-coaster crime thriller featuring unforgettable series detective Rachel Prince. Now She’s Gone is perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Peter James and Karin Slaughter.

Thank you to Bookouture for letting me take part in this tour. I really enjoyed the first book in this series and I couldn’t wait to get started on this one. Even though this is a series you could read both books as standalones.

Rachel Prince is back and I am more than a little excited about that! For those of you who haven’t read the first book Rachel works for the National Crime Agency. She has previously worked in various parts off the policy force and now assists in complex cases. This case involved Emily van Meijer. The case was ruled as an accident but there’s something fishy going on.

It was great to catch up with Rachel and her DS Mark Brickall again. It was nice to see more about Rachel the person in this book. We learn a bit more about her past and the reason her family relationships are so strained. I was glad to understand her character a bit more. Rachel and Mark make a great team. They understand how the other works and have a good working relationship. Mark can be moody at times and I suspect I know the reason, I’m sure it’s going to come out as the series progresses.

The case was full of twists and turns. Some things were obvious but other’s were most definitely not. The case turned out to be much bigger than Rachel originally thought.

Alison did a fantastic job of keeping me hooked. The pact of the story was perfect. It’s not an action packed book by any means. The tension is slowly built throughout the chapters with little reveals here and there grabbing your attention and giving you that need to read just one more chapter. 

If you are a fan of crime fiction then this story will easily draw you in. The characters are a joy to be a round even in the most horrible of circumstances you feel glad that you have this lot by your side. Alison is definitely now a must read author for me.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Alison James

I was born in the Cotswolds but spent most of my formative years abroad. I studied languages at Oxford, then became a journalist and author, returning to university after my two children to take a law degree. After a three-year stint as a criminal paralegal, I worked as a commercial copywriter and then a TV storyliner, before coming full circle to write fiction again.

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.