Blog Tour Review: The Beachside Christmas

Posted 28 September 2017 by Emma Poulloura in Blog Tours, Reviews / 0 Comments

Blog Tour Review: The Beachside Christmas

I received this book for free For A Blog Tour in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour Review: The Beachside ChristmasThe Beachside Christmas by Karen Clarke
Also by this author: The Beachside Sweet Shop, The Beachside Flower Stall
Series: Beachside Bay #3
Also in this series: The Beachside Sweet Shop, The Beachside Flower Stall
Published by Bookouture on 26th September 2017
Genres: Chicklit, Christmas, Love & Romance
Pages: 332
Format: eARC
Source: For A Blog Tour
Goodreads
Amazon UKAmazon US

Snow is falling and there’s romance in the air. Curl up for a cosy Christmas by the fire at Seaview Cottage…

When thirty-year-old Lily Ambrose’s latest relationship ends in disaster, she remembers happy childhood holidays in the seaside town of Shipley and decides it’s the perfect place for a fresh start.

But when Lily arrives, the town’s spirits are as low as her own: the local celebrity due to turn on the Christmas lights has gone on a cruise instead. Keen to prove herself, she calls in a favour and secures gorgeous reality star Ollie.

Lily’s neighbours are initially thrilled, but Ollie is as uncontrollable as he is good-looking. He can’t remember the town’s name, calls the Christmas decorations tacky, and manages to offend everyone. And whilst handsome but stubborn cameraman Craig tries to help, even he can’t stop Ollie’s madcap plans to stage a romance with Lily…

Will Lily be able to keep Ollie under control and bring the Christmas cheer back to Shipley – and find herself a real kiss under the mistletoe?

An addictive, heart-warming and uplifting read about friendship, romance, and Christmas spirit. Perfect for fans of Phillipa Ashley, Cathy Bramley and Debbie Johnson.

Thank you to Bookouture for my copy of this book via Netgalley. I have really come to love Shipley so I couldn’t think of a better place to spend Christmas. This is the third book in the series but can be read as a standalone.

Lilly fled to Shipley after her relationship with ended badly. Her neighbours are hosting their annual Christmas lights competition the only problem is they don’t have a judge. Lilly offers to find a celebrity judge for them.

Ollie is a whole bunch of trouble but he brings Craig the cameraman with him. Craig is pretty closed off at first but after a few days Lilly helps to break down those walls.

Lilly’s mum was quite a character I found her very entertaining.

This is a feel good book but does discuss some important issues which is a theme I have noticed in Karen’s books. I like that there is a serious element to her stories.

Karen has written a festive hug of a book filled with laughter and warmth. It was great to be back in Shipley again and  I look forward to seeing what else Karen brings us in the future.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Karen Clarke

After giving up her job as a library assistant, Karen now writes full-time. She’s had over 300 stories published in women’s magazines in the UK and abroad, and has written three paranormal romantic comedies, published by Little, Brown/Corsair. When she’s not writing she reads avidly, walks dogs at her local rescue centre, and is eagerly awaiting the next season of The Walking Dead. She lives in Buckinghamshire with her husband and three grown-up children.

Emma Poulloura

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • 2017 Christmas Challenge
  • 2017 Goodreads Challenge
  • 2017 Netgalley

Leave a Reply