Blog Tour Review: The Death and Life of Eleanor Parker

Posted 28th July 2018 by Emma in Reviews / 0 Comments

Blog Tour Review: The Death and Life of Eleanor Parker

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour Review: The Death and Life of Eleanor ParkerThe Death and Life of Eleanor Parker by Kerry Wilkinson
Also by this author: Last Night
Published by Bookouture on 26th July 2018
Genres: Mystery, Thriller, Young Adult
Pages: 315
Format: eARC
Source: from Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon

‘I will never forget the night I drowned…’
A village with something to hide.

Seventeen-year-old Eleanor Parker wakes up cold and alone in the river that twists through her quiet village. She has no memory of how she got there. But she does know that another girl was drowned in the same river the summer before, held under the water by an unknown killer…

A community torn apart.

Eleanor is a normal, every day teenager. She argues with her mum, spends her days with her best friend, and is looking forward to a carefree summer of sunshine and music. Who would want to hurt her?

A shocking secret.

Determined to unlock the mystery of what really happened to her, Eleanor can’t escape the feeling that something awful links her to the previous summer’s murder. But will she find out the truth before it’s too late?

A gripping and extraordinary coming of age novel that will make you question everything and keep you guessing until the very end. Perfect for fans of We Were Liars, Looking for Alaska by John Green and hit TV show Riverdale.

Thank you to Bookouture for my copy of this book and for letting me take part in this tour. I am quite the YA fan more so of the fantasy based variety. This book has some supernatural elements to it but it’s not firmly in the fantasy camp.

Eleanor knows she died on the riverbank yet she’s still walking, talking and breathing. Yes she’s off her food and her sense’s are quite right but she appears to still be alive in some way. I really liked Eleanor. She is by no means perfect, the girl has done some not so nice things but everyone makes mistakes. That’s all part of growing up.

Kerry does an excellent job of writing this book from a teenage perspective. The tone of Eleanor and her friends is just right. While this is a book about investigating her own death there are also some good laughs in here. I especially liked the bit about romantic comedies and giving the piss.

I enjoyed the story and I found it engaging the reason I couldn’t give it 5 stars is the twist, well for me it just was a bit obvious. I was shocked or surprised when it was unravelled. I was more oh yeah I saw that coming, which is a bit disappointing in a thriller. Usually I enjoy the satisfaction of being right but I didn’t even have that this time, just disappointment. . Maybe I have just watched too many crime series where this sort of thing happens. I don’t know. I know from other reviews that people have been shocked and surprised so its most likely me.

The concept of this book is original and unique. I don’t think you will find another book out there like it and it most certainly pushes the genre boundaries. It was a very enjoyable way to spend my time and if you like YA books then definitely give this one a shot. I have only read one other book by Kerry but I hope to be making that list bigger.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Kerry Wilkinson

Kerry Wilkinson has had No.1 bestsellers in the UK, Canada, South Africa and Singapore, as well as top-five books in Australia. He has also written two top-20 thrillers in the United States.

As well as his million-selling Jessica Daniel series, Kerry has written the Silver Blackthorn trilogy – a fantasy-adventure serial for young adults – a second crime series featuring private investigator Andrew Hunter, plus numerous standalone novels. He has been published around the world in more than a dozen languages.

Originally from the county of Somerset, Kerry has spent far too long living in the north of England, picking up words like ‘barm’ and ‘ginnel’.

When he’s short of ideas, he rides his bike or bakes cakes. When he’s not, he writes it all down.

Upcoming US releases:
Behind Closed Doors (Jessica Daniel 7): Out now
Two Sisters (standalone): Out now
The Girl Who Came Back (standalone): Out now
Crossing The Line (Jessica Daniel 8): Out now
Scarred For Life (Jessica Daniel 9): Out now
One Cloudy Night (standalone): Spring 2018
The Death And Life Of Eleanor Parker (standalone): June 2018
For Richer, For Poorer (Jessica Daniel 10): 2018
Nothing But Trouble (Jessica Daniel 11): 2018

Recent and upcoming UK releases:
Eye For An Eye (Jessica Daniel): Out now
Last Night (standalone): Out now
The Death And Life Of Eleanor Parker (standalone): 22 June 2018
To Have And To Hold (standalone): October 2018

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.