Blog Tour Review: The Little Cottage on the Hill

Posted 21st February 2018 by Emma in Blog Tours, Reviews / 1 Comment

Blog Tour Review: The Little Cottage on the Hill

I received this book for free for a Blog Tour in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour Review: The Little Cottage on the HillThe Little Cottage on the Hill by Emma Davies
Also by this author: Lucy's Little Village Book Club
Published by Bookouture on 19th February 2018
Genres: Chicklit, Love & Romance
Pages: 242
Format: eARC
Source: for a Blog Tour
Amazon UKAmazon US

There’s blossom in the trees and daffodils as far as the eye can see. Maddie is looking forward to a fresh start in the countryside, but there’s just one little problem…

Following a scandal at her high-flying PR agency, twenty-six-year-old Maddieflees London to help promote what she thinks is going to be a luxurious holiday retreat in the countryside. Everything is riding on her making a success of this new job…

Yet when she arrives, Maddie is horrified to find a rundown old farm in a terrible state. The brooding and secretive owner, Seth, spent all his money on leasing the land when he fell in love with the beautiful, dishevelled farm cottages and the very romantic story behind them.

When Maddie discovers an old oil painting by the original owner’s wife, she unlocks the secret of the farm’s history and quickly realises she must start getting her hands dirty if this very special place is going to have any chance of survival. As she and Seth begin working together, the stunning view from the top of the hill is not the only thing that’s leaving her breathless…

After weeks of hard work the dream looks like it might become a reality, until a secret from Maddie’s past threatens to snatch it all away again.

Can Maddie find a way to save the business and herself? Will she finally find a place to keep her heart within the crumbling walls of the little cottage on the hill?

Perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan, Lucy Diamond and Debbie Johnson who are looking to escape to the countryside and fall in love watching the seasons change.

Thank you to Bookouture for letting me take part in this tour.  I loved Emma’s last book Lucy’s Village Book Club so I was very excited to start this one.

Maddie has fled London after a scandal at her previous job. At first I couldn’t stand Maddie. She was so worried about messing up her nails or her hair or her car I wondered what the hell she was doing at Joy Acre. It soon became clear that the Joy Acre that Maddie had been sold was not quite the reality. As the story progressed Maddie became more relaxed and ultimately quite likeable. Her ideas were very good and I can see why she was hired for the job.

When we first meet Seth he’s quite rude. I wasn’t sure about him at first but I did find him more likeable than Maddie. As the story progress we understand why Seth acts the way he does. Seth’s vision for Joy Acre was perfect for the surroundings. Seth has been through a lot and I can’t imagine his pain.

I really liked Tom, Clara and Trixie. Tom seemed like a bit of a Jack the lad but with a good heart. Clara is very protective of Seth and when we find out why it’s completely understandable. Trixie is a straight talking kinda girl. I think we’d really get on and I was very envious of the food that she made for everyone.

While there was some romance in this book. It was slow burning and not really the main focus of the story. The story was about Joy Acre with a dash of romance.

This book was a treat to read. After a long day at work I enjoyed sitting down with a cuppa and this story. The setting is beautiful and it gave me hope that this winter will soon be over and spring will be here before we know it.  My only slight gripe about this book is that it ended quite suddenly for me. I wasn’t ready to say goodbye to these characters. I could easily see this being a series and returning to Joy Acre would be a very welcome trip.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Emma Davies

After a varied career, Emma Davies once worked for a design studio where she was asked to provide a fun and humorous (and not necessarily true) anecdote for their website. She wrote the following: ‘I am a bestselling novelist currently masquerading as a thirty something mother of three.’ Well the job in the design studio didn’t work out but she’s now a forty something mother of three and is happy to report the rest of her dream came true.

After many years as a finance manager she now writes full time, and is far happier playing with words than numbers. She lives with her husband, three children, and two guinea pigs in rural Shropshire where she writes in all the gaps in between real life. It’s a county she adores, her love of its beautiful people and landscapes providing endless inspiration for her books, and in fact the only thing that would make Shropshire more idyllic is if it were by the sea.

Pop over to her website where, amongst other things, you can read about her passion for Pringles and singing loudly in the car. You can also wave to her on twitter @EmDaviesAuthor or find her on Facebook (a little too often than is good for her).


Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

One response to “Blog Tour Review: The Little Cottage on the Hill

Leave a Reply