Blog Tour Review: The Lying Kind

Posted 7th February 2018 by Emma in Blog Tours, Reviews / 0 Comments

Blog Tour Review: The Lying Kind

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour Review: The Lying KindThe Lying Kind by Alison James
Also by this author: Now She's Gone
Series: Detective Rachel Prince #1
Also in this series: Now She's Gone
Published by Bookouture on 7th February 2018
Genres: Crime, Mystery, Suspense, Thriller
Pages: 316
Format: eARC
Source: from Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon UKAmazon US

The little girl stirred and opened her eyes. A light from the landing played a shadow across her toy cupboard. It was then she realised… There was someone else in the room.

Six-year-old Lola Jade Harper has gone missing from her bedroom on a safe, suburban street.

Her mother says her ex-husband has stolen their daughter. Lola’s father denies it was him.

Family, friends and neighbours all say they didn’t see a thing. But someone must know where the little girl is. Who is lying? And who is telling the truth?

Detective Rachel Prince knows the longer a child is unaccounted for, the less likely they are to be found alive.

The clock is ticking. It’s up to Rachel to find Lola Jade, before it’s too late.

And then another little girl is taken…Truly addictive from start to finish, The Lying Kind is a nail-bitingly tense crime thriller by one of the best new voices in crime fiction. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Peter James and Karin Slaughter.

Thank you to Bookouture for my copy of this book. I was intrigued by the blurb and I thought the cover was striking.

This is the first in a new series following Detective Rachel Prince. Rachel works for the National Crime Agency or the NCA as its known. Rachel has had various roles within the force and is now brought in to assist on complex cases. We learnt a lot about Rachel the detective but not so much Rachel the person. She is very closed off. Her family relationships seem strained as do her personal ones. She’s not one to open her heart and soul. I hope that as the series progresses we learn more about her.

The case of missing Lola Jade is quite an interesting one. I remember a high profile case on the news once that was kind of similar to this. It’s definitely something that could happen in real life but it’s not something that would be your first thought when looking at a case like this.  I won’t say anymore on the story line except I really enjoyed it. The investigation was full of twists and turns, but wasn’t necessarily action packed. It showed us the tedious side of police work as well as the heart racing parts. Alison had me on tenterhooks towards the end.

The pace of the writing is spot on. There was no point when I was just wishing the story would hurry up. There were points where you were plodding along nicely and then other points where you were racing through but it all fitted the story.

This was my first book by Alison and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I’m looking forward to more from Alison in the future, particularly from this series .

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Alison James

I was born in the Cotswolds but spent most of my formative years abroad. I studied languages at Oxford, then became a journalist and author, returning to university after my two children to take a law degree. After a three-year stint as a criminal paralegal, I worked as a commercial copywriter and then a TV storyliner, before coming full circle to write fiction again.

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.