Blog Tour Review: The Summer of Secrets

Posted 14th March 2018 by Emma in Blog Tours, Reviews / 1 Comment

Blog Tour Review: The Summer of Secrets

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour Review: The Summer of SecretsThe Summer of Secrets by Tilly Tennant
Also by this author: Hopelessly Devoted to Holden Finn, The Man Who Can't Be Moved, Mishaps and Mistletoe, Little Acts of Love, Just Like Rebecca
on 14th March 2018
Genres: Chicklit
Pages: 331
Format: eARC
Source: from Netgalley

Can new love grow when you dig up old secrets?

Harper Woods wakes up every morning on Silver Hill Farm feeling like the luckiest woman in the world. She’s recently engaged to the tall, dark and handsome Shay, out of her window lie rolling golden cornfields, and just downstairs are the gorgeous tea rooms she’s always dreamed of owning.

But Harper is about to discover a secret that will change her luck forever. For better or worse? She has no idea.

Distracted by her find, Harper doesn’t notice Shay getting rather close to his ex from the village. And as news of Harper’s discovery spreads through Silver Hill, there are people who are keen to stir up trouble, in particular, Will Frampton, handsome recluse and Lord of Silver Hill House, the crumbling stately home the other side of the hill.

Can Harper trust any man in Silver Hill? And as relationships are tested and tea cakes begin to fly, will anyone catch the romance blossoming in the most unexpected of places?

An utterly gorgeous, heart-warming romance, full of love and laughter. Perfect for fans of Debbie Johnson and Jenny Colgan.

Thank you to Bookouture for letting me take part in this tour. I have been a huge fan of Tilly’s work since she first started writing adult books. I love her writing style and she never fails to entrap me in the world she has created. I knew I was going to read this book without even looking at the cover or blurb.

At first I thought there were a lot of characters and I wasn’t sure how they were all going to fit together but Tilly did an amazing job of weaving them all into this story. I think that ever character played an integral part in the story.

We begin the story with Harper and Shay on Silver Hill Farm. Shay is digging the foundations for some new holiday lets when he discovers a chest full of jewels and gold. Harper immediately wants nothing to do with and brings in some professionals to decide what happens to it.

I really liked Harper. She is so selfless and kind hearted. I’m not sure I would have acted as she does in this book. I was rooting so hard for her to find her happy ending.

I didn’t trust Shay from the moment he appeared. There was something about him that just put me a little on edge. I couldn’t put my finger on it at first but as the story progressed it became clear.

Also living at the farm is Harper’s best friend Pip. I LOVED PIP! She was so straight talking and would be there for Harper no matter what. I think she was my favourite character in this book.

Francesca or Cesca as she likes to be called is very excited to look at the find from Silver Hill Farm. Her job at the museum is less than exciting and when she is asked to look into the find she barely stops to grab her coat before running out the door. Cesca was another great character. She has a love of history and is extremely passionate about it.

There are three more main characters in this book that I am going to say a few words about. First we have Allie. I felt for Allie. She does some terrible things yes but she does truly regret them. I really just wanted her life to turn around. Second we have Will. Will is Lord of Silver Hill House. He is quite the recluse and the house is crumbling to pieces. Will has taken on all the burdens of his family as his own. He thinks that the villagers tar him with the same brush as his brother so he decides to stay away. Third and finally we have Kristofer. What a delightful and unexpected character. Kristofer is extremely passionate about everything. He is one of those people that just loves life.

Tilly has captured my heart once again with the world of Cerne Hay and the surrounding area. I had tears during the epilogue it was so sweet and I just didn’t want it to be over. I would love to revisit these characters. I’m not sure what story Tilly could bring me but I will really miss these characters.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Tilly Tennant

From a young age, Tilly Tennant was convinced that she was destined for the stage. Once she realised she wasn’t actually very good at anything that would put her on the stage, she started to write stories instead. There were lots of terrible ones, likeThe Pet Rescue Gang (aged eight), which definitely should not see the light of day ever again. Thankfully, her debut novel, Hopelessly Devoted to Holden Finn was not one of those, and since it hit the Amazon best seller lists she hasn’t looked back. Born in Dorset, she currently lives in Staffordshire with her husband, two daughters, three guitars, four ukuleles, two violins and a kazoo.


Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

One response to “Blog Tour Review: The Summer of Secrets

Leave a Reply