Blog Tour Review: The Undercover Mother

Posted 21st March 2018 by Emma in Blog Tours, Reviews / 0 Comments

Blog Tour Review: The Undercover Mother

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour Review: The Undercover MotherThe Undercover Mother by Emma Robinson
Also by this author: Happily Never After, One Way Ticket to Paris
Published by Bookouture on 20th March 2018
Genres: Chicklit
Pages: 287
Format: eARC
Source: from Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon

Jenny has too much on her plate: literally – she’s only expecting one child but she’s eating for at least three. Not to mention trying to juggle her nightmare boss, a know-it-all sister, and an infuriatingly laid-back husband.

She used to be known for her ‘Single Girl About Town’ column. But when her boss gives her job to a younger colleague, Jenny panics and proposes she blogs instead about being a clueless new mum. Surely people will find her new friendship group fascinating? (Even if the only thing they seem to have in common is that they all had sex around the same time 9 months ago…)

And if her readers aren’t quite hooked yet, maybe Jenny will just have to be more liberal with the truth. After all, none of the other mums will read it… will they? 

The Undercover Mother is a hilarious parenting page-turner that will make you laugh, cry and want to crack open the gin. Perfect for fans of Why Mummy Drinks and The Bad Mother’s Diary

Thank you to Bookouture for my copy of this book via Netgalley. This is the first book I have read by this author but I loved the cover and thought the blurb sounded funny. I think this book may be aimed more at new mothers but as a childless 28 year old I still enjoyed it. When I do have children I know I will be hunting the internet for a blog just like Jenny’s in the hope that I am doing everything that I should be.

The story follows Jenny who is currently writing a column in a weekly magazine about the single life. The thing is Jenny not only hasn’t been single for 2 years she’s also about 5 weeks away from having a mini me. With her impending maternity leave someone needs to cover her column while shes gone for 6 months. Jenny struck me as either extremely naive or in denial. I’m inclined to think it was more the latter. Jenny was adamant that having a baby wasn’t going to change her or her lifestyle and in 6 months she would be back writing her column as if she never left. As I already said I don’t have children but I have friends who do and I have 2 nephews and a niece so I have seen how a baby can change people.

While she’s on maternity leave Jenny writes a blog about being a new clueless mum. She also writes about the women from her antenatal class. She gives them all code names and the are dubbed the Spice Mums. I really enjoyed the variety in mums. There was such a range that you think they would absolutely never get on and it would be more a friendship of circumstances than a friendship of your own choosing. However, I think that some genuine long term friendships were made with the most unlikely mums.

I LOVED Dan. Like literally he is the perfect husband.  He was attentive, understanding and a great father. I’ll take one of those please.

I loved the blog extracts at the beginning of each chapter. These were some of the funniest moments of the book. I enjoyed Emma’s writing style and I hope to read more of her books in the future.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Emma Robinson

Emma Robinson thinks of herself as one of the ‘Bridget Jones generation’ – who are now grown up and having children – and writes novels for women who feel the same.

She also has a blog, Motherhood for Slackers, which takes a humorous look at parenthood, and includes poems such as ‘Dear Teacher’ about her son starting school which has been shared around the world. Emma is an English teacher and lives in Essex with a patient husband and two children who are an endless source of material.

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.