Blog Tour: Sunshine and Sweet Peas in Nightingale Square

Posted 23rd May 2018 by Emma in Blog Tours, Reviews / 1 Comment

Blog Tour: Sunshine and Sweet Peas in Nightingale Square

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour: Sunshine and Sweet Peas in Nightingale SquareSunshine and Sweet Peas in Nightingale Square by Heidi Swain
Also by this author: Sleigh Rides and Silver Bells at the Christmas Fair, Mince Pies and Mistletoe at the Christmas Market
Published by Simon & Schuster UK on 31st May 2018
Genres: Chicklit, Humour, Love & Romance
Pages: 400
Format: eARC
Source: from Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon UKAmazon US

The heartwarming new novel from the Sunday Times bestselling author, perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Milly Johnson and Cathy Bramley

Kate is on the run from her almost-divorced husband who is determined to have her back, and she has found the perfect place to hide… a little cottage on Nightingale Square in Norwich, far away from her old life in London. But the residents of Nightingale Square don’t take no for an answer, and Kate soon finds herself pulled into a friendship with Lisa, her bossy but lovely new neighbour.

Within a matter of days Kate is landed with the job of campaigning the council to turn the green into a community garden, meanwhile all the residents of Nightingale Square are horrified to discover that the Victorian mansion house on the other side of the square has been bought by developers. But when all hope is lost, the arrival of a handsome stranger is sure to turn things around!

Thank you to Simon and Schuster for letting me take part in this tour and for my copy of this book. I was so excited when I was asked to take part in this tour. I’ve read a few of Heidi’s books and I just adore her writing style!

In this book we follow Kate as she is about to move to Norwich following the break up of her marriage. I was very excited about the book being set in Norwich as I live close(ish) by in Ipswich. Kate moves in to Nightingale Square after learning the history of the place. I actually looked this up to see if it was true but sadly I could find no evidence so I have to assume Heidi made this all up in that wonderful head of hers.

When I saw the book was set in Norwich I worried we might  loose that community spirit feel that Heidi’s other books have but fear not Nightingale Square is a small community in a big city. These residents pull together and help each other in a way you wouldn’t expect for those living in a city.

My favourite character is Lisa. She might be a bit gobby but she has a heart of gold. She would do anything for her friends, while running around after three children, well 4 if you include her husband. I was so so happy with the ending of Lisa’s story. Honestly, I had happy tears in my eyes. It was perfect.

This book had everything you need for a perfect afternoon in the sun. There’s the heart warming characters that you just can’t help but fall in love with, a mystery or two to unravel and a big fat happy ever after that will leave you smiling from ear to ear.

If you haven’t read Heidi’s books before now (have you been under a rock?) then I would HIGHLY recommend you start.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Heidi Swain

Although passionate about writing from an early age, Heidi Swain gained a degree in Literature, flirted briefly with a newspaper career, married and had two children before she finally plucked up the courage to join a creative writing class and take her literary ambitions seriously.

A lover of Galaxy bars, vintage paraphernalia and the odd bottle of fizz, she now writes contemporary fiction and enjoys the company of a whole host of feisty female characters.

Heidi can be found at the keyboard at all hours of the day and night and quite often scribbling longhand in her car during her lunch break. She lives in stunning south Norfolk with her wonderful son and daughter and a mischievous cat called Storm.

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


One response to “Blog Tour: Sunshine and Sweet Peas in Nightingale Square

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.