Country Affairs

Posted 8 October 2015 by Emma Poulloura in Reviews / 0 Comments

I received this book for free From Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Country AffairsCountry Affairs by Zara Stoneley
Also by this author: Stable Mates, A Very Country Christmas
Series: Tippermere #2
Also in this series: Stable Mates, A Very Country Christmas
Published by Harper Impulse on May 7th 2015
Genres: Chicklit, Love & Romance, Romance
Pages: 288
Format: eARC
Source: From Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon UKAmazon US

‘A great treat for readers who love their books jam-packed with sexy men and horses.’ Bestselling author Fiona Walker

Welcome back to Tippermere for the wedding of the year…

Scatty but loveable Lottie Brinkley is famous throughout the village for her disorganised personality so when she steps up to plan the perfect wedding the only likely outcome is disaster.

When her globetrotting, love cheat of an ex, Todd, literally crashes the wedding on a not-so-noble steed, things definitely look set to take a turn for the scandalous. As rumours of why he’s back spread through the village quicker than the stable girl can drop her knickers, is Lottie’s future with sexy eventer Rory Steel about to fall at the next fence?

With a wave of unexpected pregnancies, steamy shenanigans in the hay and a farrier with more than shoeing horses on his mind, will Lottie ever be ready to take on the coveted title of Lady of the Manor and restore the Estate to its former glory?

As the heart of the village, Tipping House Estate, makes its move into the 21st Century, pulses start to race in a novel packed full of charm, hunky stallions (the guys that is), and a daring plan that just has to succeed…

A must read for fans of Fiona Walker, Tilly Bagshawe and Jo Carnegie!

Thank you to Harper Impulse for approving my request via netgalley for this book. I read the first book in this series Stable Mates earlier this year and was excited to cath up with the gang again.

In the months that we have been gone Lottie has really grown up. She is really starting to come in to her own and becoming Lady of the Manor is the making of her.

I found Rory to be highly irritating throughout the book. He really didn’t deserve Lottie and I’ m not sure I would have put up with him like Lottie did.

Lottie and rory have a host of great supporting characters. You have Todd who was was an excellent character. He really spiced things up in Tippermere. Sam is really funny and Pip, poor Pip. I felt so sad for her. Elizabeth is just the best. She always knows what’s going on.

This was a really sweet story which I enjoyed but I couldn’t help but think there was something missing. I don’t know what and maybe it was just my mood but there were times when I struggled with this book and times when I loved it. I’ve also seen that there is a Christmas novella coming out in a few months (which I have of course pre-ordered) so I look forward to seeing the gang again at my favourite time of year.

About Zara Stoneley

Bestselling author Zara Stoneley lives in deepest Cheshire surrounded by horses, dogs, cats and amazing countryside. When she’s not visiting wine bars, artisan markets or admiring the scenery in her sexy high heels or green wellies, she can be found in flip flops on the beach in Barcelona, or more likely sampling the tapas!
Zara writes hot romance and bonkbusters. Her latest novel, ‘Stable Mates’, is a fun romp through the Cheshire countryside and combines some of her greatest loves – horses, dogs, hot men and strong women (and not forgetting champagne and fast cars)!
She writes for Harper Collins and Accent Press.

 

One StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

About Zara Stoneley

Bestselling author Zara Stoneley lives in deepest Cheshire surrounded by horses, dogs, cats and amazing countryside. When she’s not visiting wine bars, artisan markets or admiring the scenery in her sexy high heels or green wellies, she can be found in flip flops on the beach in Barcelona, or more likely sampling the tapas!
Zara writes hot romance and bonkbusters. Her latest novel, ‘Stable Mates’, is a fun romp through the Cheshire countryside and combines some of her greatest loves – horses, dogs, hot men and strong women (and not forgetting champagne and fast cars)!
She writes for Harper Collins and Accent Press.

Emma Poulloura

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


Leave a Reply