Family Tree Blog Tour

Posted 1st August 2016 by Emma Poulloura in Blog Tours, Book News / 0 Comments

Family Tree Blog Tour

Happy Monday, today I am on the Family Tree Blog tour and I am excited to share a lovely recipe to help clear those monday morning blues….

Frosted Maple Cookies

l 1 cup butter, softened

l 1 cup brown sugar

l 1 teaspoon baking soda

l 1/4 teaspoon salt l 1 cup maple syrup l 1 egg

l 1 teaspoon vanilla

l 4 cups flour

FROSTING:

l 1/2 cup evaporated milk

l 6 tablespoons butter, melted

l 1 Tablespoon maple syrup

l 3 – 4 cups powdered sugar

 

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. In a large bowl, beat 1 cup butter with an electric mixer on medium to high speed for 30 seconds. Add brown sugar, baking soda, and salt. Beat until combined, scraping bowl occasionally. Add maple syrup, egg, and vanilla; beat until combined. Beat in flour until incorporated.

2) Drop the dough by rounded teaspoons onto a cookie sheet covered with parchment paper; flatten with the back side of an oiled spatula. Bake in the preheated oven for 8 to 10 minutes or until tops are set.

3) To make the icing, whisk evaporated milk, melted butter, and maple flavoring until combined.

4) Gradually whisk in powdered sugar to make a smooth-textured frosting. Ice the cookies and let them cool until set.

Recipes from Family Tree by SUSAN WIGGS

Source: Adapted from the King Arthur flour bag.

 

Family Tree Blog TourFamily Tree by Susan Wiggs
Published by Harper on 28th July 2016
Genres: Love & Romance, Women's Literary Fiction
Pages: 400
Goodreads
Amazon UKAmazon US

A heartwarming novel from the New York Times bestselling author. Perfect for fans of Love Letters and Summer at Willow Lake.
Annie Rush seems to have it all, a handsome husband and their fabulous life in Manhattan. But all of that is snatched away when she is involved is a life-changing accident. Awakening from a coma a year later, Annie finds that the life she knew has crumbled away.In the throes of grief, Annie grasps her new reality – she has to start over from scratch, which means heading home. Annie couldn’t wait to escape the small town where she grew up, but now she finds herself warming to the close-knit community and its homespun values.There’s also a face from the distant past − Donovan Lynch − and all the reasons she’s never quite forgotten him come flooding back. Annie expects to pull herself together and return to the city, but fate has other plans …

About Susan Wiggs

Susan Wiggs's life is all about family, friends...and fiction. She lives at the water's edge on an island in Puget Sound, and she commutes to her writers' group in a 17-foot motorboat. She serves as author liaison for Field's End, a literary community on Bainbridge Island, Washington, bringing inspiration and instruction from the world's top authors to her seaside community. (See www.fieldsend.org) She's been featured in the national media, including NPR's "Talk of the Nation," and is a popular speaker locally and nationally.

According to Publishers Weekly, Wiggs writes with "refreshingly honest emotion," and the Salem Statesman Journal adds that she is "one of our best observers of stories of the heart [who] knows how to capture emotion on virtually every page of every book." Booklist characterizes her books as "real and true and unforgettable." She is the recipient of three RITA (sm) awards and four starred reviews from Publishers Weekly for her books. The Winter Lodge and Passing Through Paradise have appeared on PW’s annual "Best Of" lists. Several of her books have been listed as top Booksense picks and optioned as feature films. Her novels have been translated into more than two dozen languages and have made national bestseller lists, including the USA Today, Washington Post and New York Times lists.

The author is a former teacher, a Harvard graduate, an avid hiker, an amateur photographer, a good skier and terrible golfer, yet her favorite form of exercise is curling up with a good book. Readers can learn more on the web at www.susanwiggs.com and on her lively blog at www.susanwiggs.wordpress.com.

About Susan Wiggs

Susan Wiggs’s life is all about family, friends…and fiction. She lives at the water’s edge on an island in Puget Sound, and she commutes to her writers’ group in a 17-foot motorboat. She serves as author liaison for Field’s End, a literary community on Bainbridge Island, Washington, bringing inspiration and instruction from the world’s top authors to her seaside community. (See www.fieldsend.org) She’s been featured in the national media, including NPR’s “Talk of the Nation,” and is a popular speaker locally and nationally.

According to Publishers Weekly, Wiggs writes with “refreshingly honest emotion,” and the Salem Statesman Journal adds that she is “one of our best observers of stories of the heart [who] knows how to capture emotion on virtually every page of every book.” Booklist characterizes her books as “real and true and unforgettable.” She is the recipient of three RITA (sm) awards and four starred reviews from Publishers Weekly for her books. The Winter Lodge and Passing Through Paradise have appeared on PW’s annual “Best Of” lists. Several of her books have been listed as top Booksense picks and optioned as feature films. Her novels have been translated into more than two dozen languages and have made national bestseller lists, including the USA Today, Washington Post and New York Times lists.

The author is a former teacher, a Harvard graduate, an avid hiker, an amateur photographer, a good skier and terrible golfer, yet her favorite form of exercise is curling up with a good book. Readers can learn more on the web at www.susanwiggs.com and on her lively blog at www.susanwiggs.wordpress.com.

Emma Poulloura

Leave a Reply