Friday in Focus with K L Slater

Posted 9th September 2016 by Emma Poulloura in FIF, Q&A / 0 Comments

FIF2

Happy Friday everyone! As part of my Bookouture Month I am joined today by Kim Slater to get to know her a little better….

Tell us a little about you…

I’ve always written from being very young and for many years as an adult, I tried to get published. I sent my work out to literary agents but never made it off the slush pile. At the age of 40 I went back to university to study for a degree in English & Creative Writing. I enjoyed it so much I went on to do an MA in Creative Writing. It gave me the time and space to write, and even though it was tough because I worked full-time the whole way through, it was, without doubt, the best writing decision I made.

Before graduating from my MA, I received five offers of representation from London literary agents and a YA book deal which was a fairytale . . . at the end of a very long road!I am now a full-time writer and live in Nottingham with my husband.

I also write award-winning YA fiction under the name Kim Slater.

Tell us about your new book

I’m so excited about my debut psychological thriller for Bookouture. It’s called ‘Safe with Me’. It started out as the dissertation for my degree, although it had a different title then and the storyline has changed quite a bit. But the main character’s voice, Anna, was strong and compelling and that remains exactly the same in the book today. I only wrote a few chapters for my dissertation and then I put it aside to carry on my studies. But Anna and her chilling story never left me. I felt like she demanded the book be written and as readers will discover; once Anna wants something, she simply won’t take no for an answer . . .

I’m proud that ‘Safe with Me’ has been described as ‘a remarkable psychological thriller, with the ultimate unreliable narrator that will keep you guessing right until the very end.’

What is your favourite place to write?

In bed where I have a beautiful view of the River Trent. Unfortunately, I can’t work there too long as I get tension knots in my neck and shoulders. So, after an hour or so, it’s off to my cosy little writing room.

Where do you get your character inspiration from?

I get my inspiration for both characters and storylines from everyday life. I like listening to people chatting in shops, restaurants, on trains. I wouldn’t say I eavesdrop on people’s conversations but sometimes . . . well, you just can’t help overhearing, can you?!

What are your three desert island books?

‘Where I’m Calling From: Selected Stories’ by Raymond Carver. In my opinion, he is the best short story writer ever.

‘Of Mice and Men’ by John Steinbeck. An unbeatable classic that never gets old, I just love George and Lennie’s relationship.

‘On Writing’ by Stephen King. Both inspirational and endlessly useful to writers.

What is your favourite place to read?

Definitely in bed but anywhere I’m comfy and warm really. I do prefer to both read and write in silence if possible though. Sssh!

What is your favourite book and why?

I read so many books and enjoy so many genres, it is truly impossible to choose. So I’m going to go for a book which I loved as a child: ‘The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe’ by CS Lewis. I can still remember the thrill of reading it and wondering if we too, might have a wardrobe in our house that led to a magical land. (We didn’t, sadly.)

What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

I am a massive reader, I enjoy watching films (particularly independents and international films), going on holiday, eating out and spending time with my husband, daughter and family.

Chocolate or sweets?

Chocolate. But only a few squares as I find it sickly.

Is there a book you wished you wrote?

‘No Country for Old Men’ by Cormac McCarthy. I love his spare writing style. He has this amazing ability to tell the reader so much, in so few words.

You have a free flight and accommodation to anywhere in the world where would you go?

The island of Moofushi in the Maldives. We went there on our honeymoon last year and it was like being in paradise.

What is your favourite season?

Winter. This sounds daft because I don’t like snow! But I like being cosy when it’s cold outside, I like lamps and candles and closing the curtains. Telly is better in winter and I love Christmas.

Where can we find you?

Twitter:           @KimLSlater

Facebook:       https://www.facebook.com/KimLSlaterAuthor/

Friday in Focus with K L SlaterSafe With Me by K.L. Slater
Published by Bookouture on 3rd November 2016
Genres: Psychological
Pages: 324
Goodreads
Amazon UKAmazon US

Thirteen years ago someone did something very bad to Anna. Now it’s her turn to get even …
Anna lives a solitary existence, taking solace in order and routine. Her only friend is the lonely old lady next door. She doesn’t like to let people to get too close – she knows how much damage they can do.
Then one ordinary day Anna witnesses a devastating road accident and recognises the driver as Carla, the woman who ruined her life all those years ago. Now it’s Anna’s chance to set things straight but her revenge needs to be executed carefully …
First she needs to get to know Liam, the man injured in the accident. She needs to follow the police investigation. She needs to watch Carla from the shadows…
But as Anna’s obsession with Carla escalates, her own secrets start to unravel. Is Carla really dangerous or does Anna need to worry about someone far closer to home?
A compelling, gripping psychological thriller, perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and The Sister.

About K.L. Slater

For many years, Kim sent her work out to literary agents but never made it off the slush pile. At the age of 40 she went back to Nottingham Trent University and now has an MA in Creative Writing.

Before graduating, she received five offers of representation from London literary agents and a book deal which was, as Kim says, ‘a fairytale … at the end of a very long road!’

Kim writes psychological crime thrillers for Bookouture. Her first book, 'Safe with Me' is published on 3rd November 2016.

Kim is a full-time writer and lives in Nottingham with her husband, Mac. Between them they have three grown-up kids; Kim's daughter, Francesca, and Mac's sons, Nathan and Jake.

She also writes multi-award winning YA fiction under the name Kim Slater.

About K.L. Slater

For many years, Kim sent her work out to literary agents but never made it off the slush pile. At the age of 40 she went back to Nottingham Trent University and now has an MA in Creative Writing.

Before graduating, she received five offers of representation from London literary agents and a book deal which was, as Kim says, ‘a fairytale … at the end of a very long road!’

Kim writes psychological crime thrillers for Bookouture. Her first book, ‘Safe with Me’ is published on 3rd November 2016.

Kim is a full-time writer and lives in Nottingham with her husband, Mac. Between them they have three grown-up kids; Kim’s daughter, Francesca, and Mac’s sons, Nathan and Jake.

She also writes multi-award winning YA fiction under the name Kim Slater.

Emma Poulloura

Leave a Reply