Friday In Focus with Sue Moorcroft

Posted 9 December 2016 by Emma Poulloura in FIF / 2 Comments

FIF2

December is here and that means only one thing…It’s nearly Christmas! If you’re Christmas shopping is getting you in a tizz then worry no more today Sue is going to tell us her top 10 giifts.

My top 10 Christmas gifts

Do you find Christmas shopping difficult? I do, even though I tend to buy for children in my family and so corner the parents and make them give me details of what the children would like. These days it’s just a case of getting to that year’s favourite toys before stocks run out and, when I fail, having to return to the parents in disgrace to ask for another idea.

But when I was younger my problems were mainly about money.

I once spent August to November making gifts. Funding Christmas was going to be an issue but more importantly I was expecting a baby and had a small medical situation that made it advisable to rest for a couple of hours every afternoon.

At that time I knitted, sewed and embroidered, so that’s how I spent those couple of hours every day. Each child in the family received something handmade to wear. A jumper with their name knitted into it, a party dress or a little jacket with matching boots in the colours of the local football team. Adults received embroidered bookmarks or appliquéd cushion covers.

I don’t pretend that these gifts were perfect. Maybe the charm was in the fact that they weren’t? The party dress definitely had a mistake in it that I covered up by embroidering a flower over but the gifts were made with love and they were well received.

The best thing about that Christmas was that when I had a baby at the end of November all the damned Christmas shopping was done! That was my gift to myself. One I’ve never replicated, that’s for sure.

Friday In Focus with Sue MoorcroftThe Christmas Promise by Sue Moorcroft
Published by Avon on 6th October 2016
Genres: Chicklit, Christmas, Love & Romance
Pages: 325
Goodreads
Amazon UKAmazon US

For Ava Bliss, it’s going to be a Christmas to remember …

On a snowy December evening, Sam Jermyn steps into the life of bespoke hat maker Ava. Sparks fly, and not necessarily the good ones.

Times are tough for Ava – she’s struggling to make ends meet, her ex-boyfriend is a bully, and worst of all, it’s nearly Christmas.

So when Sam commissions Ava to make a hat for someone special, she makes a promise that will change her life. She just doesn’t know it yet…
Curl up with this gorgeous, festive read – the perfect treat for fans of Katie Fforde, Carole Matthews and Trisha Ashley.

About Sue Moorcroft

Award-winning author Sue Moorcroft writes contemporary women’s fiction with occasionally unexpected themes. A past vice chair of the Romantic Novelists’ Association and editor of its two anthologies, Sue also writes short stories, serials, articles, writing ‘how to’ and is a creative writing tutor. She’s won a Readers’ Best Romantic Read Award and the Katie Fforde Bursary.

Sue’s latest book, The Christmas Promise (Avon Books UK, HarperCollins), has climbed the Kindle UK charts and the paperback goes on sale in the UK on 1 December.

 

About Sue Moorcroft

Award-winning author Sue Moorcroft writes contemporary women’s fiction with occasionally unexpected themes. A past vice chair of the Romantic Novelists’ Association and editor of its two anthologies, Sue also writes short stories, serials, articles, writing ‘how to’ and is a creative writing tutor. She’s won a Readers’ Best Romantic Read Award and the Katie Fforde Bursary.

Sue’s latest book, The Christmas Promise (Avon Books UK, HarperCollins), has climbed the Kindle UK charts and the paperback goes on sale in the UK on 1 December.

Emma Poulloura

2 responses to “Friday In Focus with Sue Moorcroft

Leave a Reply