Series: Honeybourne

Friday In Focus with Tilly Tennant

Posted 16 September 2016 by Emma @ SCR in FIF, Q&A / 0 Comments

FIF2

It’s Friday!!!!! Whoop! Today is the release day of Christmas At the Little Village Bakery and I am very excited to be joined by Tilly herself for a little Q&A.

Tell us a little about you

I’m Tilly, somewhere in my forties (that’s all you’re getting), two teenage daughters, a husband and lots of grey hairs as a result! I was born in Dorset but now live in Staffordshire.  I’ve been writing for about ten years on and off, and recently signed to Bookouture.

Tell us about your new book

Christmas at the Little Village Bakery takes us back to the village of Honeybourne to catch up with the characters of The Little Village Bakery. It’s Christmas, so Honeybourne is sparkling with newly fallen snow and buzzing with anticipation for the festivities. But as usual, the holiday season is not plain sailing for everyone. This book centres around Dylan’s friend, Spencer, and a new arrival at the bakery, Darcie, who is Millie’s cousin. Everyone is keeping secrets and everyone seems to be having some battle or another – whether it is against forbidden love or warring parents, and peace and goodwill to all men seems a long way off!

What is your favourite place to write?

I’d love to say it’s in a peaceful country garden with the sun shining and birds tweeting as I sip my iced tea and gain inspiration from the world around me. That would be my favourite place, but as I don’t have a country garden it’s my dining room table!

Where do you get your character inspiration from?

I tend to cherry-pick bits of characteristics from people I know, people I’ve met briefly or even people in the public eye. So I suppose you could say they are loosely based on lots of people. I try not to model them on one person, especially someone I know, as not everyone is flattered by that idea.

What are your 3 desert island books?

Definitely The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly. The others are tough! Perhaps Oliver Twist. And can I take a series of books? If so I’ll take the Harry Potter ones – they’ll keep me good for a while until the rescue ship arrives!

What is your favourite place to read?

Curled up in the armchair. As before, if I had a little swinging seat in a country garden it would be that, but sadly I don’t.

What is your favourite book and why?

It is impossible to choose a favourite book, it’s like choosing between your children!  There’s probably three or four that I go back to and read every couple of years but I couldn’t possibly choose between them.

What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

I’m very boring when I’m not writing.  I love to travel and I like to socialise. I love spending time with my daughters, who are just hilarious and make me laugh all the time. I try to bake but I’m terrible, and occasionally I have a go at doing up old furniture but I’m pretty terrible at that as well!  Of course, there’s always that old time-suck, Netflix, too.

Chocolate or sweets?

Argh! You are so cruel with all these tough choices! I would say chocolate if it weren’t for the existence of jelly beans and sugar dummies!

Is there a book you wished you wrote?

Oh yes, there are loads of them! I’ve read some beautiful stuff over the years and almost wept because I know I could never write something that good, especially when I worked as an editor and great manuscripts would come in. But then I look at it from a reader’s perspective and count myself lucky that I got to read such wonderful work.

You have a free flight and accommodation to anywhere in the world where would you go?

Lapland!  I’ve wanted to go for years and I don’t care if I’m too old for Santa!

What is your favourite season?

Spring. It’s warm, but not hot enough to get swarms of bugs, and the gardens look so pretty bursting into life again.

Where can we find you?

Website|Twitter|Facebook|Goodreads

Friday In Focus with Tilly TennantChristmas at the Little Village Bakery by Tilly Tennant
Also by this author: Hopelessly Devoted to Holden Finn, The Man Who Can't Be Moved, Mishaps and Mistletoe, Little Acts of Love, Just Like Rebecca
Series: Honeybourne #2
Also in this series: The Little Village Bakery, Christmas at the Little Village Bakery
on 16th September 2016
Genres: Chicklit, Christmas, Humour, Love & Romance
Pages: 273
Goodreads
Amazon UKAmazon US

It’s time to get toasty by the fire with a glass of mulled wine and a slice of chocolate yule log sprinkled with a little romance. Welcome to Christmas at the Little Village Bakery.
Snow is falling in Honeybourne and Spencer is bringing home his American fiancée Tori for a traditional English Christmas with all the trimmings. But when his hippie mum and dad meet her high-maintenance parents, sparks of the wrong sort start to fly. Then Spencer bumps into his first love Jasmine and unexpected feelings come flooding back.
Millie is run off her feet with Christmas orders at the Little Village Bakery and new baby Oscar. Thank goodness her cousin Darcie is here to help her. Although she does seem to be rather flirty with Millie’s boyfriend Dylan.
Will Darcie ever find true love of her own? And is marrying Tori a terrible mistake for Spencer if his heart is with someone else?
A heartwarming Christmassy romantic comedy, perfect for fans of Carole Matthews and Millie Johnson.
What everyone is saying about The Little Village Bakery:
Hooked ... when the truth was revealed it was not what I was expecting … I can honestly say it was delightful.’ The Book Jotter
This book was an absolute pleasure to read – I devoured it in one sitting!The Reading Shed
‘This is an adorable tale of new beginnings, new friends and a village pulling together. Highly recommended.’ Shelley Back Books
‘I absolutely loved this.’ Well Read Pirate
‘This is the first book I've read by this author and I absolutely loved it. The story weaves together a tale of love, friendship, trust, desire and so much more.’ Haven’t Got a Clue
‘I loved this story, it had a little bit of everything, romance, heartbreak, mystery and a little magic thrown in for good measure. I’ll definitely be reading the sequel when it comes out.’ Mum Reinvented
I loved Honeybourne; it’s the kind of place I would love to live. This is a sweet, enjoyable read.’ For the Love of Books

About Tilly Tennant

From a young age, Tilly Tennant was convinced that she was destined for the stage. Once she realised she wasn’t actually very good at anything that would put her on the stage, she started to write stories instead. There were lots of terrible ones, likeThe Pet Rescue Gang (aged eight), which definitely should not see the light of day ever again. Thankfully, her debut novel, Hopelessly Devoted to Holden Finn was not one of those, and since it hit the Amazon best seller lists she hasn’t looked back. Born in Dorset, she currently lives in Staffordshire with her husband, two daughters, three guitars, four ukuleles, two violins and a kazoo.

 

 

Emma @ SCR

Christmas at the Little Village Bakery

Christmas at the Little Village Bakery

It’s time to get toasty by the fire with a glass of mulled wine and a slice of chocolate yule log sprinkled with a little romance. Welcome to Christmas at the Little Village Bakery. Snow is falling in Honeybourne and Spencer is bringing home his American fiancée Tori for a traditional English Christmas with all the trimmings. But when his hippie mum and dad meet her high-maintenance parents, sparks of the wrong sort start to fly. Then Spencer bumps into his first love Jasmine and unexpected feelings come flooding back. Millie is run off her feet with Christmas orders at […]



The Little Village Bakery

The Little Village Bakery

Help yourself to a generous slice of Victoria sponge, a perfect cup of tea and a big dollop of romance. Welcome to the Little Village Bakery. Meet Millie. Heartbreak has forced her to make a new start and when she arrives at the old bakery in the little village of Honeybourne she is determined that this will be her home sweet home. Her imagination has been captured by the tumbledown bakery but with no running water and dust everywhere, her cosy idea of making cakes in a rural idyll quickly crumbles. Luckily the locals are a friendly bunch and step […]