Series: Star and Sixpence

Christmas at the Star and Sixpence

Posted 15 December 2016 by Emma @ SCR in Blog Tours, Christmas 2016, GR 2016, Reviews / 0 Comments

Christmas at the Star and Sixpence

Christmas at the Star and SixpenceChristmas at the Star and Sixpence by Holly Hepburn
Also by this author: Snowdrops at the Star and Sixpence, Valentine's Day at the Star and Sixpence, Summer at the Star and Sixpence, Autumn at the Star and Sixpence
Published by Simon & Schuster UK on 1st November 2016
Genres: Chicklit, Christmas, Love & Romance
Pages: 106
Source: I bought it
Goodreads
Amazon UKAmazon US
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

As snow falls over Little Monkham, and carols echo around the green, with the village choir preparing for their biggest event of the year, it’s time to return to the Star and Sixpence for a suitably festive drink.

Nessie and Sam are racking up success after success at the Star and Sixpence pub, but their personal lives leave something to be desired. Sam’s gorgeous actor boyfriend is far away filming, and Nessie has an unwanted neighbour arrive in the form of Owen’s ex-mother-in-law.

With several spanners in the works, can Nessie and Sam pull off a Christmas miracle and get their happy-ever-after…?

This is the final part of the Star and Sixpence series. I am immensely sad that this series is over. I was drawn to the first book Snowdrops at the Star and Sixpence because of it’s christmassy cover. I had an Amazon gift voucher so I purchased a kindle copy and loved the sound of it so much I read it pretty soon after. It has been a killer of  a year having to wait for each part and I devoured each one.

In the final part Owen’s ex -mother in law comes to visit and things do not go smoothly. Nessie and Owen are slowly progressing their relationship however things are thwarted again with the arrival of Gweneth.

Sam and Nick are going strong with their ‘relationship’ and the media have finally left her alone. But with Nick away filming it gives Sam some time to think about what she really wants.

This is a lovely Christmas read. It’s perfect for that post dinner rest on Christmas day or when the family gets to much and you need to escape.

I cant wait to read Holly’s new series The Picture House by the Sea in the new year.

About Holly Hepburn

I’ve wanted to write books for adults for as long as I can remember but I was too scared to try. One day I decided to be brave and dipped a toe into the bubble bath of romantic comedy with my first novella, Cupidity, and I’ve never looked back. I often try to be funny to be funny, except for when faced with traffic wardens and border control staff. My favourite thing is making people smile.

I’ve tried many jobs over the years, from barmaid to market researcher and I even had a brief flirtation with modelling. These days I am mostly found writing.

I live near London with my grey tabby cat, Portia. We both have an unhealthy obsession with Marmite.

Emma @ SCR

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Autumn at the Star and Sixpence

Autumn at the Star and Sixpence

As autumn starts to draw in and the nights are getting darker, the fire is lit at the Star and Sixpence and Nessie and Sam start to turn their thoughts to the annual bonfire night. The village comes together every year to celebrate the turning of the season and this year is going to be extra-special. This book is the 4th part of the Star and Sixpence story. It is set a little while after the third book ended. Halloween is approaching and the girls have a big party planned. Things are going slowly but well with Nessie and Owen, […]



Spring Blogger Evening

Spring Blogger Evening

As a lot of you have probably seen on 16th March I was lucky enough to be invited to the Spring Bogger Evening with Books and the City. So I got myself all dressed up for a night of fizz, books and sugar. I have to say the girls over at BATC did not disappoint. I arrived an hour early so I treated myself to a dinner of Wasabi, if you’ve never had Wasabi I would highly recommend the Sushi. It is literally the best sushi I’ve ever eaten.   The author panel consisted of Penny Parks, Paige Toon, Holly Hepburn […]



Valentine’s Day at the Star and Sixpence

Valentine’s Day at the Star and Sixpence

Fall in love at the Star and Sixpence this Valentine’s Day…. Love is in the air as sisters Nessie and Sam prepare for Valentine’s Day at their newly renovated pub, The Star and Sixpence. They have a star chef winging her way from London to cook a very special Valentine’s Day dinner, for all the couples in the village. But as sparks fly in the kitchen, will love bloom in The Star and Sixpence? A romantic short story, perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley and Scarlett Bailey. I read the first book in this series at the end of last […]



Snowdrops at the Star and Sixpence

Snowdrops at the Star and Sixpence

When sisters Nessie and Sam inherit a little pub in a beautiful country village they jump at the chance to escape their messy lives and start afresh. But when they arrive at the Star and Sixpence, it’s not quite what they imagined – it’s pretty much derelict, ruined by debts, and it’s going to be a huge job to get it up and running again. It’s just before Christmas but they are determined to relaunch on New Year’s Eve, to bring the new year in with a bang. But with nosy neighbours, miserable locals and no money to contend with, […]



Christmas Spotlight: Holly Hepburn

Christmas Spotlight: Holly Hepburn

A perfect winter warmer story for all fans of Cathy Bramley and Scarlett Bailey. When sisters Nessie and Sam inherit a little pub in a beautiful country village they jump at the chance to escape their messy lives and start afresh. But when they arrive at the Star and Sixpence, it’s not quite what they imagined – it’s pretty much derelict, ruined by debts, and it’s going to be a huge job to get it up and running again. It’s just before Christmas but they are determined to relaunch on New Year’s Eve, to bring the new year in with […]