Rome is Where the Heart is

Posted 11 March 2017 by Emma @ SCR in Blog Tours, Reviews / 0 Comments

Rome is Where the Heart is

I received this book for free From Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Rome is Where the Heart isRome Is Where The Heart Is by Tilly Tennant
Also by this author: Hopelessly Devoted to Holden Finn, The Man Who Can't Be Moved, Mishaps and Mistletoe, Little Acts of Love, Just Like Rebecca
Series: From Italy with Love #1
Also in this series: A Wedding in Italy
Published by Bookouture on March 9th 2017
Genres: Chicklit, Humour, Love & Romance
Pages: 284
Source: From Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon UKAmazon US
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Can a holiday romance ever have a happy ending? Escape with Kate to the sun-drenched city of Rome where a love affair is just about to begin …

When Kate’s husband Matt dumps her on Friday 13th she decides enough is enough – it’s time for her to have some fun and so she hops on a plane to Rome. A week of grappa and gelato in pavement cafes under azure blue skies will be just what the doctor ordered.

What she doesn’t count on is meeting and falling for sexy policeman Alessandro. But the course of true love doesn’t run smoothly – Alessandro has five meddling sisters, a fearsome mama and a beautiful ex Orazia. They’re all certain that Kate is not the girl for him.

Can Kate and Alessandro’s love last the distance? Or will she return home with the one souvenir she doesn’t want – a broken heart …

Fall in love with the colourful cafes and the cobbled piazzas of Rome and follow Kate’s dreams and her heart in this enchanting escapist read. Perfect for fans of Debbie Johnson and Carol Matthews.

Thank you to Bookouture for my copy of this book via Netgalley. I have followed Tilly’s books pretty much from the start and I adore her writing style so I knew I had to read her latest story.

This story follows Kate as her husband and childhood sweetheart, Matt, dumps her. Once the divorce comes through Kate decides its time she travelled like she always wanted to. Matt didn’t like travelling so Kate has loads of places she wants to go and top of her list is Rome.

Kate is a lovely girl that seems to have settled in life. I couldn’t work out why she had settled for second best when she was worth so much more but I know from my own life that sometimes these things happen without you even realising it.

I visited Rome a few years ago so I found it extremely easy to picture myself watching Kate from a distance in Rome. Tilly’s descriptions were very accurate. It was clear from the off that Kate was not a seasoned traveller. Everything that could go wrong in the firs few days did. There were times when I wanted to shout at her and times when I wanted to hug her and tell her it will all be ok.

At first I was slightly suspicious of Jamie but in the end I really liked him. He was a good friend to Kate throughout her trip and once she returned home.

Alessandro is the perfect Italian specimen. He’s hot, he’s single, he’s funny, he’s kind, he’s caring and to top it off he wears a uniform. What more could a girl want!

I also really liked Lucetta, Alessandro’s sister. She really made me laugh.

This book was fun and good paced but there were also some quite serious and emotional parts to it. As always I am left me craving my next fix of Tilly’s writing. Luckily I don’t have to wait long as I have just been given a copy of the next book in this series, which is out next month .

About Tilly Tennant

From a young age, Tilly Tennant was convinced that she was destined for the stage. Once she realised she wasn’t actually very good at anything that would put her on the stage, she started to write stories instead. There were lots of terrible ones, likeThe Pet Rescue Gang (aged eight), which definitely should not see the light of day ever again. Thankfully, her debut novel, Hopelessly Devoted to Holden Finn was not one of those, and since it hit the Amazon best seller lists she hasn’t looked back. Born in Dorset, she currently lives in Staffordshire with her husband, two daughters, three guitars, four ukuleles, two violins and a kazoo.

Emma @ SCR

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • 2017 Goodreads Challenge
  • 2017 Netgalley

Leave a Reply