The Little Village Bakery

Posted 14th September 2016 by Emma Poulloura in Blog Tours, Reviews / 0 Comments

The Little Village Bakery

I received this book for free From Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Little Village BakeryThe Little Village Bakery by Tilly Tennant
Also by this author: Hopelessly Devoted to Holden Finn, The Man Who Can't Be Moved, Mishaps and Mistletoe, Little Acts of Love, Just Like Rebecca
Series: Honeybourne #1
Also in this series: Christmas at the Little Village Bakery
Published by Bookouture on 15th June 2016
Pages: 281
Source: From Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon UKAmazon US

Help yourself to a generous slice of Victoria sponge, a perfect cup of tea and a big dollop of romance. Welcome to the Little Village Bakery.

Meet Millie. Heartbreak has forced her to make a new start and when she arrives at the old bakery in the little village of Honeybourne she is determined that this will be her home sweet home. Her imagination has been captured by the tumbledown bakery but with no running water and dust everywhere, her cosy idea of making cakes in a rural idyll quickly crumbles.

Luckily the locals are a friendly bunch and step in to help Millie. One in particular, Dylan, a laid-back lothario, soon captures her attention.

But just as Millie is beginning to settle in, an unexpected visitor from her past suddenly turns up determined to ruin everything for her. It’s time for Millie to face the skeletons in her closet if she’s going to live the dream of running her little village bakery, and her blossoming romance with Dylan.

A charming heartwarming novel about love, life and new beginnings perfect for fans of Milly Johnson and Debbie Johnson.

Thank you to Bookouture for providing me with a copy of this book via Netgalley. When I heard that Tilly had signed with Bookouture I was over the moon! I have been reading Tilly’s books for a little while now and I was so happy for her! I was even more excited when I heard she had a new book out.

In this book we follow Millie as she’s about to move to Honeybourne. This little village is in Hampshire which is a far cry from Millrise where she’s currently living. Millie has had enough of the treatment she is getting in her current home town and has decided she’s not putting up with it anymore. She’s purchased the little bakery in Honeybourne and this is going to be her fresh start.

When Millie arrives in Honeybourne she’s not quite ready for the state of the bakery. It’s almost a ruin. The water is off, the walls are crumbling the electric needs rewiring it’s practically unlivable.  Millie had put all her money into the bakery and had very little that she could use to fix the place up.

One of the first people Millie meets when she arrives is Jas. Jas has lived in Honeybourne her whole life. She has 3 children and is married to Rich. She fell completely head over heels with Rich many years ago.

The book alternates between Millie and Jas which I enjoyed. I like trying to get into two peoples head and see the story from each others view.

Dylan is Jas’ brother and Millie’s neighbour. Dylan has a little bit of a reputation as a ladies man. With no need to work he spends his days living like a student. Jas is getting a little sick of this lifestyle and really wishes he would grow up.

I won’t ruin the story for you but it does have you on edge trying to work out why Millie left Millrise. When I found out I felt awful for her. It was such a sad story.

I really enjoyed my time in Honeybourne and I can’t wait to go back for Christmas.

About Tilly Tennant

From a young age, Tilly Tennant was convinced that she was destined for the stage. Once she realised she wasn’t actually very good at anything that would put her on the stage, she started to write stories instead. There were lots of terrible ones, likeThe Pet Rescue Gang (aged eight), which definitely should not see the light of day ever again. Thankfully, her debut novel, Hopelessly Devoted to Holden Finn was not one of those, and since it hit the Amazon best seller lists she hasn’t looked back. Born in Dorset, she currently lives in Staffordshire with her husband, two daughters, three guitars, four ukuleles, two violins and a kazoo.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Tilly Tennant

From a young age, Tilly Tennant was convinced that she was destined for the stage. Once she realised she wasn’t actually very good at anything that would put her on the stage, she started to write stories instead. There were lots of terrible ones, likeThe Pet Rescue Gang (aged eight), which definitely should not see the light of day ever again. Thankfully, her debut novel, Hopelessly Devoted to Holden Finn was not one of those, and since it hit the Amazon best seller lists she hasn’t looked back. Born in Dorset, she currently lives in Staffordshire with her husband, two daughters, three guitars, four ukuleles, two violins and a kazoo.

Emma Poulloura

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Leave a Reply