Blog Tour Review: Beneath Blackwater River

Posted 28th April 2021 by Emma in Blog Tours, Reviews / 1 Comment

Blog Tour Review: Beneath Blackwater River

Blog Tour Review: Beneath Blackwater RiverBeneath Blackwater River by Leslie Wolfe
Also by this author: The Girl from Silent Lake
Series: Detective Kay Sharp #2
Also in this series: The Girl from Silent Lake
Published by Bookouture on 23th April 2021
Genres: Crime, Suspense, Thriller
Pages: 319
Format: eARC
Source: from Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon Kindle

She looked alive, her hair drifting freely in the water, her red lips gently parted, as if to let her final breath escape. A small locket floated by her face, attached to her neck with a silver chain…
When Detective Kay Sharp first left Mount Chester—population 3,823—in her rear-view mirror, she promised never to look back. The town only contained bad memories and dark secrets. But when a brutal crime surfaces, she finds herself home once more, and this time she’s not going anywhere.
Kay is called to Blackwater River, where the body of a seventeen-year-old girl has been found. Surrounded by snowy peaks and a forest alive with the colors of fall, the victim floats in the water, a hand-carved locket around her neck.
The locket seems strangely familiar. Digging into cold cases, Kay discovers that three-year-old Rose Harrelson was wearing it when she vanished fourteen years ago. In the middle of the night, the little girl’s bedroom—with Mickey Mouse on the wall and a hanging baby mobile—was suddenly empty. The unsolved case still haunts the town.
But the teenager they have found has been dead for only a few hours. If the girl in the river is Rose, where has she been? Who has been hiding her all these years? Kay knows she must solve the kidnapping in order to untangle the mystery of the dead body.
Then Kay receives a shocking call. The dead girl has been identified—and she’s not Rose. So why is she wearing the locket, and what happened to the missing child from all those years ago? As Kay unearths a web of lies and deceit spun for decades, the close-knit community will never be the same. And Kay will find herself facing a truly terrifying killer…
A totally gripping page-turner that should come with a health warning! Be warned: you’ll lose sleep and your heart will race like crazy as you read twist after twist. Perfect for fans of Lisa Regan, Robert Dugoni and Kendra Elliot.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Thanks to Bookouture for letting me take part in this tour and for my copy of this book via Netgalley.

This is the second book in the Detective Kay Sharp series but it could be read as a standalone. I enjoyed the first book especially the relationship between Kay and Elliot. It was funny, tense and had that teasing nature. This continued in this book but there was a lot less of these two in scenes together which made me sad. These two have a great dynamic and work well together.

Kay Sharp was as determined and forceful as ever in this book. There were multiple storylines going on in the book, you really had to take stock of what you knew and where everything was going. I think it was purposely designed this way to make you stop and work out what was going on.

I loved the chapter headings and the different POV in the book. The book was very easy to read and I easily read half of this book in one go.

One thing I will say is there were very little in the way of surprises for me. I guessed much of the story very early on. I was however gripped because I needed to know if I was right. I wanted that smug satisfaction of working it all out. Leslie did throw a few spanners in there that I didn’t catch and thinking back I should have. I liked that even though I thought I knew what was going on I could still be a little bit surprised.

I hope there will be more to come from Kay and the rest of the Mount Chester group as I’m not quite ready to say goodbye to these characters yet!

About Leslie Wolfe

Leslie Wolfe is a bestselling author whose novels break the mold of traditional thrillers. She creates unforgettable, brilliant, strong women heroes who deliver fast-paced, satisfying suspense, backed up by extensive background research in technology and psychology.

Leslie released the first novel, Executive, in October 2011. It was very well received, including inquiries from Hollywood. Since then, Leslie published numerous novels and enjoyed growing success and recognition in the marketplace. Among Leslie’s most notable works, The Watson Girl (2017) was recognized for offering a unique insight into the mind of a serial killer and a rarely seen first-person account of his actions, in a dramatic and intense procedural thriller.

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


One response to “Blog Tour Review: Beneath Blackwater River

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.