Blog Tour Review: The First Time We Met

Posted 10th November 2020 by Emma in Blog Tours, Reviews / 1 Comment

Blog Tour Review: The First Time We Met

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

Blog Tour Review: The First Time We MetThe First Time We Met by Jo Lovett
Published by Bookouture on 10th November 2020
Genres: Contemporary, Humour, Love & Romance, Women's Literary Fiction
Pages: 330
Format: eARC
Source: from Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon KindleBookshopBookhype

What if you met The One on his wedding day?
Izzy doesn’t believe in love at first sight, but when Sam walks into the cafe where she works one winter’s morning, she knows without a doubt that he’s the one. Too bad Sam’s getting married. Today.
Nearly a year later, Izzy still can’t stop thinking about Sam, the one that got away, but she knows it’s time to move on: he’s a married man and probably wouldn’t recognise her if he passed her on the street.
But Sam has never forgotten Izzy, the funny, gorgeous woman who asked him out on his wedding day. If the timing had only been better, he knows they could have had something wonderful.
When Izzy and Sam’s paths finally cross again, everything has changed. But with the Atlantic Ocean and decades of baggage between them, they are about to find out whether some obstacles are too big for even true love to overcome.
An unforgettable love story about what happens when the stars finally align. Fans of One Day in December, The Day We Met and Jojo Moyes will fall head over heels for The First Time We Met.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Wow oh wow what a book. It’s one of those books that give you ALL the feels!!!! This is a story about how even when you meet your One life can still get in the way. It’s a story of hope and fighting the odds. I love this idea of meeting The One but not at the right time. I think the romance and the storyline between our main characters is very realistic.

Our two main characters are Izzy and Sam. I really liked both of them. Izzy is such a sweetheart but has spent her life being second best. Don’t get me wrong she has great friends and her Granny was the best but when it comes to her parents she’s not their top priority. I really felt for her here. Your parents should always be there for you and for Izzy this just wasn’t the case. I’m so glad she had her Granny and her best friends. Sam is drop-dead gorgeous with a voice to die for. He’s a good man who does lose his way a little. He has the best of intentions but didn’t always listen to those around him.

My favourite character by far was Barney, Sam’s son. I felt so much for this little guy and I was so so proud of what he achieves in this book. It really gave me such a warm fuzzy feeling.

I raced through this book without even trying. I read half of it in one sitting. It’s a style that is so easy to read. You find yourself saying oh just one more chapter and before you know it you’ve read half a book!

Thank you to Bookouture for my copy of this book via Netgalley and letting me take part in this tour.

About Jo Lovett

Jo Lovett lives in London with her family.

She worked in Corporate Tax before taking a longer-than-expected career break to have more-than-expected children (five). She started writing romantic comedy when she realised that she was regularly begging her oldest son to let her do his English homework but she wasn’t actually that interested in haunted houses or Macbeth.

Jo was runner-up in the Good Housekeeping/ Orion First Novel Competition 2018 and shortlisted for the Comedy Women in Print Award 2019.

When she can escape from her laundry mountain and childcare, she enjoys reading, tennis and wine.

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


One response to “Blog Tour Review: The First Time We Met

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.