Blog Tour Review: The Garden on Sparrow Street

Posted 10th October 2019 by Emma in Reviews / 2 Comments

Blog Tour Review: The Garden on Sparrow Street

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour Review: The Garden on Sparrow StreetThe Garden on Sparrow Street by Tilly Tennant
Also by this author: Hopelessly Devoted to Holden Finn, The Man Who Can't Be Moved, Mishaps and Mistletoe, Little Acts of Love
Published by Bookouture on 9th October 2019
Genres: Chicklit, Christmas, Contemporary, Humour, Love & Romance
Pages: 324
Format: eARC
Source: from Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon

As the cold winter nights draw in, escape to the sleepy town of Wrenwick, where the streets sparkle with snow and a lonely young widow is about to find that true love really can strike twice…

As Christmas cheer fills Sparrow Street with excitement, grieving widow Nina is having a hard time. December is always a difficult month to face without her beloved husband Gray, the days feel long and bleak, and to cap it all, she’s just lost her job.

So when Nina hears that Sparrow Street’s Community Garden, one of Gray’s favourite places, is to be put up for sale she knows she must do something. Filled with purpose, she gathers the residents of Sparrow Street around her to turn the neglected patch of land into a Garden of Memories.

Working with her neighbours, single mum Kelly and eighty-year-old Ada, Nina soon finds that she’s not the only lonely soul on Sparrow Street. And as the community comes together and the garden flourishes, Nina can’t help but be drawn to Irish gardener Colm with his sparkling blue eyes and kind heart, finding herself confiding in him about all her recent troubles.

But just as Colm and Nina grow closer and he opens up to her about his own secret loss, Colm’s estranged wife returns from Scotland, wanting to try again. Nina knows she should let the man she’s falling for go – it’s the right thing to do. But what if fate has other plans in store? Will the beautiful garden on Sparrow Street have brought two people together only for Nina’s cautious heart to push them apart?

If you love an uplifting, moving love story, then The Garden on Sparrow Street is the perfect romantic read to curl up with on a winter’s afternoon. Fans of Josie Silver and Carole Matthews will love this book!

Thank you to Bookouture for letting me take part in this tour and for my copy of this book via netgalley. I am a big fan of Tilly’s writing. While this book is set in the run-up to Christmas it’s not the main focus of this book.

When Sacred Heart closes its charity shop Nina finds herself with a lot of time to spare. When a new project to clear up the communal garden and turn it into a memory garden on her street she really gets stuck in. Nina has been through a lot and has come out the other side stronger than she realises. I really liked Nina and I could easily see myself joining in her and, best friend, Robyn at their curry nights.

I loved Robyn. Both Nina and Robyn’s husbands passed away and the two formed a friendship. This story spends a lot of time discussing grief. Everyone handles grief differently and at different speeds. This story explores different types of grief from the grief of losing a lover to the grief of losing a parent.

When disaster occurs at the garden Colm, a local gardener, comes to the rescue. Colm is drool-worthy! With that Irish accent and those gorgeous looks, I fell instantly!

I really enjoyed this cosy heartwarming read. It’s perfect for this time of the year!

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Tilly Tennant

From a young age, Tilly Tennant was convinced that she was destined for the stage. Once she realised she wasn’t actually very good at anything that would put her on the stage, she started to write stories instead. There were lots of terrible ones, likeThe Pet Rescue Gang (aged eight), which definitely should not see the light of day ever again. Thankfully, her debut novel, Hopelessly Devoted to Holden Finn was not one of those, and since it hit the Amazon best seller lists she hasn’t looked back. Born in Dorset, she currently lives in Staffordshire with her husband, two daughters, three guitars, four ukuleles, two violins and a kazoo.

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


2 responses to “Blog Tour Review: The Garden on Sparrow Street

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.