Blog Tour Review: The Golden Girl

Posted 10th June 2020 by Emma in Reviews / 1 Comment

Blog Tour Review: The Golden Girl

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

Blog Tour Review: The Golden GirlThe Golden Girl by Dana Perry
Also by this author: The Silent Victim
Series: A Jessie Tucker Mystery #2
Published by Bookouture on 8th June 2020
Genres: Crime, Mystery, Suspense, Thriller
Pages: 344
Format: eARC
Source: from Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon

Maura was perfect. A perfect liar.
One humid summer evening, Officer Maura Walsh is lead to her table at a local restaurant – it’s a trendy place with cocktails on the menu, full of office workers leaning across the bar to flirt. She’s prettier than most of the women here, but everybody gives her a wide berth. She doesn’t eat or drink anything. She doesn’t meet anyone’s eye.
An hour later, Maura is dead. Her silky red hair swirls in the dirty puddles beneath her body. The dank walls of a forgotten alley are the last thing she ever saw. It took a long time for Maura to die, alone in the dark.
Somebody made sure she would have plenty of time to think about what she’d done.
This totally twisty and absolutely gripping read will keep you turning the pages late into the night. Perfect for fans of Mary Burton, Karen Rose and Lisa Jackson.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Thank you to Bookouture for my copy of this book via netgalley and for letting me take part in this tour. I really enjoyed the first book in this series so I jumped on the chance to read this one. I would say both books can be read as standalones as they are about different crimes but if you want to really get to know Jessie Tucker then I would recommend reading both.

This book takes place a little while after the first. Jessie Tucker is back at work at the Tribune newspaper and is looking for her next big story. Jessie decides to take on the story of Maura Walsh’s death. Jessie is as dogged as ever in this story. Jessie isn’t afraid to get herself into trouble to get the story. Jessie puts herself in danger on more than one occasion in this book in order to get the truth. I like that Jessie will do anything for the truth. I was also proud of her for getting the full story before publishing. Some reporters don’t have a conscience but Jessie does.

The story itself is full of twists and turns that kept me gripped to the end. I flew through this book. It’s well written and very easy to read. I just kept turning page after page. I really struggled to put it down. Dana does an excellent job of reeling you in, making you care about the characters and even making you doubt everyone. This is a gripping read that will leave you wanting more from this daring crime reporter.

About Dana Perry

Dana Perry is a New York City author who writes mystery thrillers featuring newspaper reporter Jessie Tucker.

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

One response to “Blog Tour Review: The Golden Girl

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.