Blog Tour Review: The Lost Bones

Posted 11th May 2022 by Emma in Reviews / 1 Comment

Blog Tour Review: The Lost Bones

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour Review: The Lost BonesThe Lost Bones by Ruhi Choudhary
Also by this author: Hidden Lake , Their Frozen Graves, Little Boy Lost, The Dying Game
Series: Detective Mackenzie Price #5
Also in this series: Hidden Lake , Their Frozen Graves, Little Boy Lost, The Dying Game
Published by Bookouture on 9th May 2022
Genres: Crime, Suspense, Thriller
Pages: 332
Format: eARC
Source: from Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon Kindle

The woman’s skin was almost transparent. Her light hair darkened at the tips. Her lips were blue and slightly parted. But all Mackenzie could focus on were the eyes. Those arctic eyes that looked glassy like glistening marbles. She could see her own reflection in them staring back at her. The woman looked almost like a carefully crafted doll.
Detective Mackenzie Price knows what makes a killer tick. But when she finds the body of a young woman dumped in the trunk of her car, she knows this case is going to be the most personal and twisted yet.
Looking down at the victim, Mack recognises her instantly: Sophie Fields, the fiancée of Mack’s co-worker who vanished months before. Reeling in shock, Mack keeps one crucial piece of evidence to herself, too horrified to share it: a crumpled piece of paper bearing the words “You’re welcome, Mackenzie.”
As Mack pieces together Sophie’s last known movements, another body is found with a note. This time the victim is Courtney Montenegro, Mack’s childhood bully. As Mack looks at the note it becomes clear that the killer has an unusual MO: they want to protect her at all costs. But why?
The only evidence connecting the victims are identical pieces of material left at both crime scenes. With no other leads, Mack unearths a cold case which may lead her to the killer. Sophie had a sister who disappeared years before. Did she get too close to the truth and pay the ultimate price?
With an obsessive killer still on the loose, Mack knows that she needs to get deep inside their mind to work out who is next on the hit list. Can she get to the killer in time before someone close to her loses their life?
A completely gripping read that will have you on the edge of your seat, this addictive crime thriller is perfect for fans of Lisa Regan, Kendra Elliot and Melinda Leigh.

Thank you to Bookouture for my copy of this book via netgalley and for letting me take part in this tour. This is the fifth book in the Mackenzie Price series. 

Mackenzie Price has been through quite the ordeal in the first 4 books and it doesn’t let up in this one either. Mackenzie is one hell of a detective but she always ends up in danger herself. I love Mack’s relationship with Nick. I think they make such a good team.

Ruhi is an excellent writer. The pace in this book doesn’t let up at all in this book which makes it very difficult to put down. I was so engrossed in this book from the first page to the point where I felt like if I put the book down something bad would happen to the characters in my absence. The descriptions are so vivid you feel like you are right there with Mack and the team. 

With lots of twists and shocks it’s definitely one for those crime lovers out there to get their teeth into. 

About Ruhi Choudhary

Ruhi Choudhary discovered her passion for writing when she was seven years old and wrote her first Star Trek episode. Being a fan of the dark and twisted, she found her calling in crime thrillers.

She likes to write stories that make you a little uncomfortable and characters that you struggle to make up your mind about but stay with you.

She lives in Toronto and spends her days training to be a scientist and wishing it rained more often!

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


One response to “Blog Tour Review: The Lost Bones

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.