Blog Tour Review: The One

Posted 28th February 2022 by Emma in Reviews / 1 Comment

Blog Tour Review: The One

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour Review: The OneThe One by Claire Frost
Also by this author: Living My Best Li(f)e, Married at First Swipe
Published by Simon & Schuster UK on 3rd March 2022
Genres: Chicklit, Contemporary, Humour, Love & Romance, Women's Literary Fiction
Pages: 400
Format: eARC
Source: from Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon Kindle

The brand-new heart-breaking novel of love, loss and learning to live again, from the acclaimed author of Married at First Swipe. Perfect for fans of Paige Toon, Holly Miller and Rosie Walsh.
What happens when you lose the love of your life just three months after you meet him?
Lottie Brown has finally found The One. Leo is everything she’s ever wanted – he’s handsome, kind, funny and totally gets her. Three months into their relationship, Lottie is in love and happier than ever before.
But then Leo tragically dies, and Lottie is left floundering.
As she struggles to stop her life falling apart, Lottie learns more about the man she thought she knew, and starts to question whether Leo really was as perfect as he seemed…

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Thank you to Books and the City for my copy of this book. I have read Claire’s two previous books and I really enjoyed them. This book was a lot sadder than her previous to but it was very poignant.

Lottie was such an easy character to like. She is very realistic and she’s the sort of character you like warts and all. Seeing Lottie cope with her grief was very difficult to read. She really does struggle and it was lovely to see the characters talking about mental health and how important it is. This is a topic we all shy away from especially when dealing with grief. I think its very important to make this more normalised. Everyone has tough days and sometimes those turn into tough weeks, months, years but if we talk about our struggles then things do tend to feel better.

I really loved Leo’s parents I thought they were so sweet and so brave. I was glad Lottie got to know them even if it wasn’t in the circumstances she expected.

Claire explores some really tough topics but she deals with them all very tactfully and realistically. Grief is different for everyone and Claire shows us that too. I loved the sisters’ bond. They were so close and their relationship was so real. All families have arguments but in the end, usually, you will make up.

This is a story about love, grief and really just living. Life isn’t easy but we have to take the good when we can. I think that is a great moral to take from this story.

About Claire Frost

Claire Frost grew up in Manchester, the middle of three sisters. She always wanted to do a job that involved writing, so after studying Classics at Bristol University she started working in magazines. For the last 10 years, she’s been at The Sun on Sunday’s Fabulous magazine, where she is Assistant Editor and also responsible for the title’s book reviews. She can mostly be found at her desk buried under a teetering TBR pile.

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


One response to “Blog Tour Review: The One

Leave a Reply to Claire Frost Cancel reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.