Blog Tour Review: Why She Ran

Posted 19th December 2019 by Emma in Blog Tours, Reviews / 1 Comment

Blog Tour Review: Why She Ran

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour Review: Why She RanWhy She Ran by Geraldine Hogan
Also by this author: Silent Night
Series: Detective Iris Locke #2
Also in this series: Silent Night
Published by Bookouture on 19th December 2019
Genres: Crime, Suspense
Pages: 294
Format: eARC
Source: from Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon

Yesterday they were a family like any other…

Twenty-year-old Rachel McDermott was your typical girl-next-door. She loved her job as a nurse, was close to her family in the small Irish town of Corbally and seemed to have no enemies. So when she is brutally murdered, the local community reels in horror and Detective Iris Locke is put on the case.

The main suspect is her close friend, sixteen-year-old Eleanor Marshall, a tearaway teenager with addiction problems whose parents have long since turned their backs on her. Eleanor was last seen fleeing the scene where Rachel’s body was found and is now missing in the woods near the Comeragh mountains.

Eleanor’s sister Karena insists Eleanor wouldn’t have hurt her best friend, but a day later, when Karena is found dead in the area Eleanor is hiding, Iris knows things don’t look good for the runaway teen. She doesn’t want to believe that Eleanor is her sister’s killer, but all the evidence seems to point that way.

But Iris can’t let go of the elements of the case she doesn’t have answers for. The fact that Rachel’s father died in suspicious circumstances. The strange company that Rachel was keeping the night before she died. Was it guilt or fear that made Eleanor run? And can Iris find her before it is too late?

This gripping mystery thriller is perfect for fans of Carol Wyer, Robert Dugoni and LJ Ross.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Thank you to Bookouture for my copy of this book via Netgalley. I read the first book in this series earlier this year and fell in love with Iris Locke so I knew I just had to read the next instalment. I would say you most likely need to read book one to understand a lot of the references in this one plus it was SUCH a good book!

Iris Locke’s life fell apart in the first book and we are now seeing her try to make sense of her life. While she’s doing that there’s a new case and someone needs to take the lead for the Murder Team. Iris is volunteered/steps up. Iris may be finding her way but she is still a great main character. She is full of empathy and concern for our missing girl and cannot rest until the case is over.

I also love Slattery. He’s very old school and seems to be (for now at least) getting away with it. He has a good heart and while he might bend the rules he only has one focus and that is finding the killer.

The story itself, I raced through it when I did read it. (I’ve had a stinking cold and struggle to read with a headache) Geraldine’s writing is addictive. I was turning page after page with such tension especially the last few chapters. I was so on edge I didn’t know what was going to happen.

A thrilling and excitable read. I honestly can’t wait to go back!

About Geraldine Hogan

Geraldine Hogan was born in Ireland. She gained an Honors Degree in English Literature and Psychology from Dublin City University and a Postgraduate Degree in Training and Management from University College, Galway. She is an Irish award-winning and bestselling author of four contemporary fiction novels under the pen name Faith Hogan.
Silent Night is her first crime novel, her second is due out in December 2019.
She is currently working on her next novel. She lives in the west of Ireland with her husband, four children and a very busy Labrador named Penny. She’s a writer, reader, enthusiastic dog walker and reluctant jogger – except of course when it is raining!

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

One response to “Blog Tour Review: Why She Ran

Leave a Reply to Faith Hogan / Geraldine Hogan Cancel reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.