Genre: Chicklit

Blog Tour Review: Reach For The Stars

Posted 22 September 2017 by Emma Poulloura in Blog Tours, Reviews / 1 Comment

Blog Tour Review: Reach For The Stars

I received this book for free From Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour Review: Reach For The StarsReach for the Stars by Colleen Coleman
Published by Bookouture on 21st September 2017
Genres: Chicklit, Humour, Love & Romance
Pages: 186
Source: From Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon UKAmazon US

When Evelyn Dooley married her high-school sweetheart, James, she thought she was set for life. Now she’s twenty-eight, single, and fleeing to Dublin from her hometown to avoid the gossip surrounding their break-up. And all because of a test-your-relationship board game.

This was not in her five-year plan.

Then a chance encounter with gorgeous musician Danny leads to an unlikely friendship, and soon the pair are running music nights together in one of the oldest pubs in Dublin. For the first time Evelyn is following her dreams rather than someone else’s – and sparks are beginning to fly between her and Danny…

But when her savings run out and home beckons, Evelyn has to choose. The safe, comfortable life she left behind, or a new adventure with Danny? Will Evelyn flee back to the familiarity of her ex, or reach for the stars and take a leap into the unknown?

A laugh-out-loud, feel-good story of friendship, second chances, and romance, perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane, Lindsey Kelk and Marian Keyes.

Thank you to Bookouture for providing me with a copy of this book via Netgalley. This is the first book I have read by Colleen but I loved the cover and description. I am always up for trying new authors as you never know when you will find an absolute gem.

The story follows Evelyn Dooley as she navigates her way through breaking up with her high-school sweetheart husband. I thought that Evelyn was extremely brave to go to a new place where she practically knew no one and start over. I found Evelyn very likeable and easy to associate with.

Not long after she moves to Dublin Evelyn meets Danny. Now there is something about Danny that you just can’t help but love him. He’s very sweet but he’s a but mysterious. There’s something that this man isn’t telling us. Danny has a bit of a tortured soul which comes across in his music.

This is a happy, lighthearted read with a touch of seriousness. This story will bring you out of the darkest moods and leave you with a smile on your face.

I really enjoyed Colleen’s style and I look forward to reading more of her books in the future.

For now I will leave you with my favourite quote from the book.

Set your sights on the sky and reach for the stars

 

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Colleen Coleman

Colleen Coleman is an Irish-Canadian novelist. She is the winner of the much-coveted Novelicious Undiscovered People’s Choice Award launched to find the next ‘chick-lit star’. She spent over ten years working as a teacher of English and Philosophy before finally taking a deep breath, scrunching her eyes shut, putting her pen to paper and vowing not to lift it again until she wrote the words The End. As a result, her first novel was born. Colleen lives between London, Ireland and Cyprus with her very patient husband and very, very chatty twin daughters. Don’t Stop Me Now, her first book was released in March 2017

Emma Poulloura

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • 2017 Goodreads Challenge
  • 2017 Netgalley

Review: The Vets At Hope Green: Escape to the Country

Posted 11 September 2017
Reviews
Review: The Vets At Hope Green: Escape to the Country

PART ONE of a serialised novel – a heartwarming and inspiring story about living the simple life and the joy of animals.  Working as a receptionist in a London vets, Sam is living far from her idea of a simple life. She’s always broke, rents a tiny flat, and is constantly arguing with her boyfriend. But the worst part is that her career is going nowhere. She wants to be a vet, but the most contact time with the animals she has is a quick hello when she books in […]

Book News: All That We Are Cover Reveal

Posted 7 September 2017
Blog Tours, Book News
Book News: All That We Are Cover Reveal

Life hasn’t been the same since returning from Barbados. Josh has fallen. Hard. Unable to shake the feelings Ella stirred up in him, he retreats further into himself. He can’t tell her how he feels, because even if he did, it wouldn’t change the fact that she’s married. Complicated is an understatement for Ella as she works through her own personal hell after finding out her dead husband is, in fact, alive and in hiding again. But life, and work, must go on. An undercover job on a four-week cruise […]

Blog Tour Review: The Real Thing

Posted 4 September 2017
Blog Tours, Reviews
Blog Tour Review: The Real Thing

This sassy, spirited baker is fine with heat—but is her fake fiancé too hot to handle? Bakery owner Willow Dalton’s friendship with Zane Walker has always been a bit complicated. Now a scrumptiously hot A-list actor, Zane’s always had a reputation as player. He’s arrogant, and he’s definitely not boyfriend material. Sure, he did Willow a favor by agreeing to take her virginity before college, but is that reason enough to go along with a fake engagement a decade later—even if it comes with a real diamond ring? Zane should […]

Review: The Last Piece of My Heart

Posted 28 August 2017
Reviews
Review: The Last Piece of My Heart

When life feels like a puzzle, sometimes it’s the small pieces that make up the bigger picture… Join Bridget on a journey to put her world back together. A successful travel journalist, Bridget has ambitions to turn her quirky relationship blog about the missing pieces of her heart into a book. But after a spate of rejections from publishers, she accepts an alternative proposition. Nicole Dupré died leaving behind a bestselling novel and an incomplete sequel. Tasked with finishing the book, Bridget is thankful to have her foot in the publishing door, even if it means […]

Blog Tour Review: The Cosy Canal Boat Dream

Posted 25 August 2017
Blog Tours, Reviews
Blog Tour Review: The Cosy Canal Boat Dream

Welcome to the Little Rock marina – where hearts are healed and dreams are made… For the last two years Nell Andrews has been struggling to stay afloat. As her life tumbled down around her, the only safety net has been her cosy canal boat, The Nollie. Tucked away inside, Nell has found a place to heal her broken heart. And now she’s ready to move on and follow her dream… Gorgeous Guy Cornish, with his easy Irish charm, makes him an instant hit with everyone at the marina, and […]

Blog Tour Review: Swept into Love

Posted 16 August 2017
Blog Tours, Reviews
Blog Tour Review: Swept into Love

The Ryders are a series of sexy stand-alone romances. These hot contemporary romance novels feature alpha male heroes and sexy, empowered women. They’re flawed, funny, passionate, and relatable to readers who enjoy new adult romance, contemporary romance, and women’s fiction. It’s been years since Sally Tuft’s husband died and she was left to raise her teenage son alone. And almost as long since she told the only other man she’d ever wanted that they should be just friends. Now her son has left for college and Sally has no distractions […]

Review: Our Song

Posted 7 August 2017
Reviews
Review: Our Song

This is the story of Ally and Charlotte, whose paths have intersected over the years though they’ve never really been close friends. Charlotte married Ally’s ex and first true love, David. Fate is about to bring them together one last, dramatic time and change their lives forever. Full of Dani’s signature warmth and emotion, this is a gripping and emotional family drama. With breath-taking plot twists, Dani explores themes of serendipity, friendship and love. What would you do if your husband was the love of somebody else’s life? And when […]

Blog Tour Review: If You Could See Me Now

Posted 4 August 2017
Blog Tours, Reviews
Blog Tour Review: If You Could See Me Now

Izzy Harris should have it all – but her boyfriend has been ignoring her for months, she’s been overlooked for a promotion, and the owner of her local coffee shop pervs on her every time she has a craving for a salted caramel muffin. Then her life is unexpectedly turned upside down. Izzy dumps her oblivious boyfriend, and leaps on the chance to win a big pitch at work. Needing to work closely with gorgeous colleague Alex is an added perk… But then her best friend has her heart broken, […]

Review: The One We Fell in Love With

Posted 24 July 2017
Reviews
Review: The One We Fell in Love With

Phoebe is caught between a rock and a hard place. Settle down and get married, or return to the French Alps to pursue her passion? Eliza is in love with someone who is no longer hers. In fact, he probably never was… And her dream of becoming a successful musician seems to be vanishing before her eyes. Rose is out of a job and out of a boyfriend. To make matters worse, she’s been forced to move back in with her mother… But these very different girls have one thing […]