Blog Tour Review: The Start of Something Wonderful

Posted 23rd March 2018 by Emma in Blog Tours, Reviews / 0 Comments

Blog Tour Review: The Start of Something Wonderful

I received this book for free for a Blog Tour in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour Review: The Start of Something WonderfulThe Start of Something Wonderful by Jane Lambert
Published by HQ Digital UK on 5th January 2018
Genres: Chicklit, Love & Romance
Pages: 364
Format: eARC
Source: for a Blog Tour
Goodreads
Amazon UKAmazon US

Previously published as Learning to Fly

It’s never too late to follow your dreams…

Forty-year-old air stewardess, Emily Forsyth, thought she had everything a woman could wish for: a glamorous, jet-set lifestyle, a designer wardrobe and a dishy pilot boyfriend. Until he breaks up with her…

Catapulted into a mid-life crisis she wishes she’d had earlier, she decides to turn her life upside-down, quitting her job and instead beginning to chase her long-held dreams of becoming an actress!

Leaving the skies behind her, Emily heads for the bright lights of London’s West End – but is it too late to reach for the stars?
Don’t miss this heartwarming and uplifting debut, perfect for fans of Colleen Coleman and Cate Woods!

Thank you to Jane for inviting me to take part in this tour.

This book follows Emily as she starts over in life. Emily is a 40 something air hostess who has always dreamed of being an actress. When her long term boyfriend Nigel breaks up with her for a younger model she decides its time to live the life she’s always dreamed of.

Emily was was likeable and easy to identify with. I really liked her air hostess friends and I’m sure they could tell me a lot of funny stories from their times in the sky. Emily has a variety of roles to play and not all of them are actually on the stage but this did allow for many funny moments and lots of interesting locations for you to enjoy.

The book is split into 15 chapters each one representing a month of Emily’s life.  For me there was a lot of moving around and jumping about that sometimes I found it difficult to keep up. Just as you were getting into a scene then it would completely change which sometimes threw me off. There were also some lines in Italian and German both of which I don’t speak and not all were translated which meant sometimes I wasn’t quite sure what was being said.

There was a little romance in this book which I did enjoy. The male interest is romantic, passionate and hot!

The ending of this book is a little bit like marmite I think. You will either love it or you will not. While I understood it I was in the not camp.

If you like a story about second chances and living our life the way you want and not how others expect you to then this is for you.

One StarOne StarOne Star

About Jane Lambert

Jane taught English in Vienna then travelled the world as cabin crew, before making the life-changing decision to become an actor in her mid-thirties. She has appeared in “Calendar Girls”, “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time” and “Deathtrap” in London’s West End. “Learning to Fly” is her debut novel.

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


Leave a Reply