Review: I Will Survive

Posted 29th January 2019 by Emma in Reviews / 0 Comments

Review: I Will SurviveI Will Survive by Pippa James
Also by this author: The Happiness Project
Published by Bookouture on 19th September 2018
Genres: Chicklit, Humour, Love & Romance, Women's Literary Fiction
Pages: 354
Format: eBook
Source: I bought it
Goodreads
Amazon UK

A laugh out loud, feel good romantic comedy about surviving love, life and parenting one gin at a time!

5am. It’s still dark outside.
Hit snooze, hit snooze again.
But it’s not the alarm, it’s the kids.
They’re dressing the cat up in a purple tutu.
And I’m hiding in the bathroom, messaging HELP to my friends.

We may be more slummy mummys than yummy mummys, but we’re in it together, taking on motherhood one day at a time. But with hot single dads, PTA pressure and kids who are determined to drive us round the twist, can we really survive the new school year?

A hilarious, feel-good story for every parent who has ever struggled bleary-eyed through toddler tantrums, school fancy dress fails and found friendship over wine and cake. Perfect for fans of The UnMumsy Mum, Why Mummy Drinks and Fiona Gibson

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

I saw this book on Netgalley last year but I knew I wouldn’t have time to read it so I managed to exercise some restraint and didn’t request it. With the second book coming next month I thought it was time to catch up.

This story is centred around three mums Frankie, Kate and Alison. Frankie has let her mum do a lot of the bringing up of her son for the last five years. Kate is a nervous mum which is reflected in her youngest and Alison wants to be the perfect mum. She tries everything to appear to be perfect. Frankie was my instant favourite but throughout the book, I really warmed to the other two.

There were quite a few side characters in the playground. The PTA mums are exactly the sort of people I expect the PTA to be and I felt quite sorry for Stand Alone Dad.

I really enjoyed this story. It was a nice easy read peppered with giggly moments. This is a story about unlikely friendships and seeing beneath the surface. I’m looking forward to seeing these three again in The Happiness Project.

About Pippa James

Growing up in Birmingham, Pippa James was never without at least one book on the go and therefore lived several different lives concurrently. As an adult, she would like to spend much of her time the same way, but she now lives a chaotic life in a small Derbyshire town with her husband and two children. Her writing is frequently interrupted by parenting duties and her day job as a teacher and the only way she can find a quiet space to think, is by taking her laptop to the pub to drink tea and write, which she does at every opportunity.

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.