Blog Tour Review: Buried Deep

Posted 10th April 2020 by Emma in Blog Tours, Reviews / 1 Comment

Blog Tour Review: Buried Deep

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour Review: Buried DeepBuried Deep by Susan Wilkins
Series: Detective Megan Thomas #1
Published by Bookouture on 6th April 2020
Genres: Crime, Suspense
Pages: 325
Format: eARC
Source: from Netgalley
Goodreads

Megan has to climb round and step across the body to get a proper view. What’s left is like a chalk white mask in the rough shape of a face. The innocence is still there, and a hint of the cheekiness. But perhaps she is imagining that.
Detective Megan Thomas moved to Devon for a fresh start, after years spent undercover. She’s staying with her sister and swimming in the sea daily, battling the tides and letting the waves wash her past away. But she can’t outrun everything.
On her first day back, she’s called to a murder. The body lies deep in an underground bunker, and when Megan forces herself to look, it triggers a panic attack. As her heart races and her breathing stalls, she realises she’s not sure if she can go back to life in a regular crime unit. Her memories are too powerful to be buried – maybe too powerful to let her do her job.
But when another body is found on the stretch of beach where she swims every day, Megan remembers why she joined the force, and what she’s fighting for. The victim came to the police for help, and Megan knows they failed her. She won’t rest until she gets answers. But how can she find justice for others, when she’s no longer sure of herself?
A completely gripping new series from bestselling author Susan Wilkins, introducing the tough and determined Detective Megan Thomas. For fans of Ann Cleeves, LJ Ross and Mari Hannah, this will keep you hooked from the first page to the last.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Thank you to Bookouture for letting me take part in this tour and for my copy of this book via Netgalley. This is the first book in a new series and this is the first time I have read anything by this author.

Our main character is Megan Thomas. Megan has just moved to Devon from the capital. Megan was working undercover and is finding it difficult to adjust. I really liked Megan. She is good police. She has gut feelings and follows them up. At times Megan doubts herself but I could tell that she was on the right path. Megan has a dark past and I can’t wait to learn more about it as the series continues.

Susan manages to hook you in, make you fall in love with the characters and then have you on the edge while you await their fate. I was quickly invested in not only Megan but her family and the rest of the team. The team are fairly new to each other and I am looking forward to seeing how they work together.

The pace of this book is spot on. Susan speeds you up and slows you down just at the right times. The book is well crafted with multiple threads and red herrings to really keep you interested.

This is the beginning of what looks to be a really exciting and gripping series.

About Susan Wilkins

Susan Wilkins also writes as S.J. Wilkins

Susan worked for years in television drama, wrote for shows including Casualty, Heartbeat, Coronation Street and Eastenders and created the London-based detective drama South of the Border.

Her gritty, Essex-based gangster trilogy – THE INFORMANT, THE MOURNER and THE KILLER – has been compared to Martina Cole and Kimberley Chambers and described as “blazingly brilliant” (Sunday Mirror).

IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN ME, her fourth book, is a twisty psychological thriller, featuring police detective Jo Boden, an ambitious cop still grieving for a murdered sister.

For 2020 a completely gripping new series from Susan introduces the tough and determined Detective Megan Thomas. For fans of Ann Cleeves, LJ Ross and Mari Hannah, this will keep you hooked from the first page to the last.

Writing as S.J. Wilkins, A KILLER’S HEART – a tense and timely political thriller, is now available on Kindle.

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

One response to “Blog Tour Review: Buried Deep

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.