Blog Tour Review: Who’s Next

Posted 13th September 2020 by Emma in Reviews / 2 Comments

Blog Tour Review: Who's Next

Blog Tour Review: Who’s NextWho's Next? by Chris Merritt
Also by this author: Knock Knock
Series: Detectives Lockhart and Green #2
Also in this series: Knock Knock
Published by Bookouture on 11th September 2020
Genres: Crime, Suspense, Thriller
Pages: 449
Format: eARC
Source: from Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon Kindle

Stumbling to the ground, he claws at the earth around him, trying to stabilise himself, but his attacker is on him in seconds. As he stares at the lights of the bustling streets on the other side of the park gates, he doesn’t even have time to yell for help before everything goes black.
When the body of wealthy businessman Charles Stott is found dead on Wimbledon Common, covered in bruises just feet away from his luxury home, Detective Dan Lockhart is called to investigate the shocking scene. Examining the sickeningly disfigured body before him, Lockhart knows he’s dealing with a brutal killer and, as he bends down to take a closer look, he notices something on the victim’s neck: a small, crudely drawn symbol in black ink. It seems the murderer has marked his victim, but why? Dan needs to get inside the perpetrator’s mind, so he contacts psychologist Dr Lexi Green.
As the ensuing media circus puts pressure on Dan and Lexi’s investigation, another victim is found and the headlines are quick to report a serial killer is on the loose. The body of a successful lawyer has been discovered in a park with the same purple bruising and hand-drawn symbol on his neck. Dan fears that more victims will follow.
As the case intensifies, Dan uncovers a new lead on his missing wife, Jess, who disappeared eleven years ago. Determined to follow it up, he must choose between tracking down a serial murderer and finding Jess. Can he make the impossible decision before the killer strikes once more?
Fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Cara Hunter will love this thrilling new series from Chris Merritt. From an explosive start to a heart-stopping finale, you will not want to put this book down!

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Thank you to Bookouture for letting me take part in this tour and for my copy of this book via Netgalley. I read the first book int his series earlier this year and really loved it. I really like Dan Lockton and I enjoyed the psychological bits from Dr Green too. I found her profiling fascinating. I used to watch Criminal Minds and it reminded me of this a little.

This time we are working a case of brutal murders that have Dan and his team stumped! I was so suspicious of everyone that I just didn’t know who the murder was. We also see some chapters from the murderers POV. I love reading multiple POVs so this was fun for me. I love, love getting inside different characters heads.

I guessed something early on that I won’t ruin but I think it was a good thing to highlight. I won’t say any more on it because it will totally ruin it but I was very pleased about it.

I was very frustrated in this book for Dr Green. She had some solid ideas and she just got dismissed. Like why ask for her opinion if you are just going to dismiss it. That really irritated me.

Dan is having really personal issues in this book that kept his eye off the game too.

This book highlighted some serious issues like PTSD and sexual assault. I think its good that these are highlighted and the real fall outs of these. I was glad that Chris was honest about how these people were affected. There were some other personal issues too that are discussed. Chris is realistic in his stories which I like.

There is a real mix of the personal and the case. I think this is good for those who do want to read the whole series as you have something to come back for time and time and not just another case. Don’t get me wrong I like the cases too but it’s the personal aspects that bring people back and really make it a series. I honestly can’t wait to read the next one!

About Chris Merritt

Hello! I’m a British author whose crime thrillers combine psychology, suspense, and characters you care about.

All my novels are set in London, where I live. My first trilogy starred Zac Boateng and Kat Jones, two detectives motivated by family, who tackle organised crime and police corruption. LAST WITNESS, the second Boateng and Jones book, reached #13 in the UK Kindle chart in 2019.

My second series features detective Dan Lockhart – an ex-soldier with a missing wife – and psychologist Dr Lexi Green, an American living in London. These novels are darker, more psychological serial-killer cases, with romantic relationships as a central theme.

I began writing fiction in 2014, after previous careers as a diplomat, based in Iraq and Jerusalem, and later as a psychologist working with victims and perpetrators of crime. I specialised in treating Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), which sparked my interest in telling stories about how people cope when faced with extreme adversity.

Now, I spend most of my time writing novels and drinking coffee while *thinking* about writing novels. When I’m not writing, I love climbing and playing basketball.

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


2 responses to “Blog Tour Review: Who’s Next

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.