Blog Tour Review: Vanishing Girls

Posted 22nd January 2018 by Emma in Blog Tours, Reviews / 1 Comment

Blog Tour Review: Vanishing Girls

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour Review: Vanishing GirlsVanishing Girls by Lisa Regan
Also by this author: The Girl With No Name
Series: Detective Josie Quinn #1
Also in this series: The Girl With No Name
Published by Bookouture on 17th January 2018
Genres: Mystery, Thriller
Pages: 334
Goodreads
Amazon UKAmazon US

She was close enough to see that the girl had written a word on the wall in bright, warm red blood. Not a word, actually. A name…

Everyone in the small American town of Denton is searching for Isabelle Coleman, a missing seventeen-year-old girl. All they’ve found so far is her phone and another girl they didn’t even know was missing.

Mute and completely unresponsive to the world around her, it’s clear this mysterious girl has been damaged beyond repair. All Detective Josie Quinn can get from her is a name: Ramona.

Currently suspended from the force for misconduct, Josie takes matters into her own hands as the name leads her to evidence linking the two girls. She knows the race is on to find Isabelle alive, and she fears there may be others…

The trail leads Josie to another victim, a girl who escaped but whose case was labelled a hoax by authorities. To catch this monster, Josie must confront her own nightmares and follow her instinct to the darkest of places. But can she make it out alive?

Fans of Angela Marsons, Helen Fields and Robert Dugoni will be utterly gripped and sleeping with the lights on once they discover the first in this unputdownable new crime thriller series.

Thank you to Bookouture for letting me take part in this tour. With my new love for Crime books well and truly taking hold this was a book not to be missed.

The story follows Detective Josie Quinn as she tries to locate missing girl Isabelle Coleman. I was very confused when I first began reading as Josie is actually on suspension and I kept wondering how she was going to do this while she was not technically working but it played out better than I could have imagined. Josie is bad ass! She also has a lot of layers. She has had a troubled past and I cannot wait to delve into those layers and unearth more about her. She is going to be a fascinating character as the series progresses.

There are  a few side characters that I really enjoyed. Lisette is awesome. I  have noticed recently that I love old people in books. In some ways they are like children where they aren’t afraid to say it how is it. The difference with old people is they have the experience that children lack. This experience has taught them that you can’t please everyone so you should be true to yourself.  The other character I really liked was Noah. At first he seemed like a bit of a wet fish but as the story progressed he became one of my favourites.

Lisa’s writing is gritty but not explicit. This book deals with some real dark crimes but Lisa manages to do so without shoving it in the readers face which is quite a skill. I really struggled with guessing where this was going and I really had to rely on Josie to figure it out for me.  I cannot wait to see what Lisa brings for book two!

 

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Lisa Regan

Lisa Regan is an Amazon bestselling crime novelist. She has a Bachelor’s Degree in English and Master of Education Degree from Bloomsburg University. She is a member of Sisters In Crime, Mystery Writers of America and International Thriller Writers. She lives in Philadelphia with her husband and daughter.

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


One response to “Blog Tour Review: Vanishing Girls

Leave a Reply