Blog Tour Review: The Girl on Wildfire Ridge

Posted 5th August 2022 by Emma in Reviews / 0 Comments

Blog Tour Review: The Girl on Wildfire Ridge

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour Review: The Girl on Wildfire RidgeThe Girl on Wildfire Ridge by Leslie Wolfe
Also by this author: The Girl from Silent Lake, Beneath Blackwater River, The Angel Creek Girls
Series: Detective Kay Sharp #4
Also in this series: The Girl from Silent Lake, Beneath Blackwater River, The Angel Creek Girls
Published by Bookouture on 3rd August 2022
Genres: Crime, Suspense, Thriller
Pages: 345
Format: eARC
Source: from Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon Kindle

Her face, beautiful even in death, gazed open-eyed at the azure sky. Her brown, silky hair fanned around her head, bringing out the pallor of her skin. Her lips were slightly parted as if she was still breathing, as if she was whispering her goodbyes.
On a hot summer’s day, the sleepy town of Mount Chester is thrown into turmoil when seventeen-year-old local girl Jenna goes missing. Within hours, the case takes an agonizing turn when her body is discovered in the isolated mountains.
Detective Kay Sharp rushes to the scene, hiking for miles to the base of Wildfire Ridge. From the markings on Jenna’s body, it’s clear that she was brutally murdered. Near the victim, Kay finds a butterfly-shaped hair clip with a set of fingerprints that could be a vital clue.
In the hunt for the truth, Kay turns the small town upside down. She learns that Jenna changed dramatically over the past months, no longer the popular girl who always wore a smile on her face. Kay is certain whatever happened to Jenna recently must be the key to her death.
When forensics from the butterfly hair clip comes back, the fingerprints don’t match Jenna’s. Then Kay makes a breakthrough that turns her blood to ice. Jenna was in contact with someone linked to Kay’s own past—and the secret she has spent the last sixteen years burying. If the truth comes out, it could destroy her.
With the clock ticking, and every minute critical, Kay is up against the toughest case of her career. Can she risk everything to confront the past she has been running from, and save another innocent girl before it’s too late?
Thrillers don’t get more addictive than this! You’ll race through this gripping page-turner, your heart pounding, as you’re hit with twist after twist. Perfect for fans of Lisa Regan, Karin Slaughter and Rachel Kaine.

Thank you to Bookouture for letting me take part in this tour. This is the 4th book in the series but could be read as a standalone.

This case is pretty tough. Jenna is only 17 and went through horrors that no one should go through. Detective Sharp manages to stay professional despite the case clearly affecting her.

Leslie has done an excellent job of creating a relatable and believable storyline with dire consequences. The book is well-paced and gives you just the right amount of tension and suspense. I struggled to put this one down I was furiously swiping page after page.

The story is full of twists that will leave you gobsmacked. Leslie draws you in so easily you feel like you are investigating right alongside Kay and Elliot. You become as invested as they are in finding the killer.

A thrilling, addictive read for those who love a police procedural.

About Leslie Wolfe

Leslie Wolfe is a bestselling author whose novels break the mold of traditional thrillers. She creates unforgettable, brilliant, strong women heroes who deliver fast-paced, satisfying suspense, backed up by extensive background research in technology and psychology.

Leslie released the first novel, Executive, in October 2011. It was very well received, including inquiries from Hollywood. Since then, Leslie published numerous novels and enjoyed growing success and recognition in the marketplace. Among Leslie’s most notable works, The Watson Girl (2017) was recognized for offering a unique insight into the mind of a serial killer and a rarely seen first-person account of his actions, in a dramatic and intense procedural thriller.

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.