Blog Tour Review: Escape to the French Cafe

Posted 24th March 2019 by Emma in Blog Tours, Reviews / 1 Comment

Blog Tour Review: Escape to the French Cafe

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour Review: Escape to the French CafeEscape to the Little French Cafe by Karen Clarke
Also by this author: The Beachside Sweet Shop, The Beachside Flower Stall, The Beachside Christmas, The Bakery at Seashell Cove
Published by Bookouture on 18th March 2019
Genres: Chicklit, Love & Romance
Pages: 284
Format: eARC
Source: from Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon

On the beautiful French coast lies the Café Belle Vie, a peaceful haven offering a warm welcome and delicious pains au chocolat – and where Natalie’s quiet life is about to be turned upside down… 

When thirty-one-year-old Natalie Bright’s boyfriend dumps her and immediately gets engaged to his ex-girlfriend, she escapes her heartbreak and moves to the charming village of Chamillon on the Île de Ré. 

She’s determined to build a new life there: writing about farmer’s markets for a local magazine, exploring the local vineyards on her bike, and taking advantage of the sunshine. And in the Café Belle Vie she finds a bustling community – including new best friend Charlie – and a near-constant supply of cakes. 

All in all, things are looking pretty good. 

So when a blast from the past – her teenage crush Jay Merino – suddenly turns up in Chamillon, Natalie’s thrown. She’s sworn off men ever since she moved to France, but she and Jay have a connection that stretches back years. 

But could taking a chance on an old flame complete her new life – or ruin everything she’s worked so hard for? 

A gorgeous rom com full of sunshine, croissants and sparkling romance! Perfect for fans of Debbie Johnson, Zara Stoneley and Debbie Macomber. 

Thank you to Bookouture for my copy of this book and for my spot on the blog tour. I have read most of Karen’s books an I like her writing style so I was excited to read this story.

Karen’s previous books have been set in the UK seaside but this book is set on the French island of Île de Ré. The island sounds beautiful and the village where Natalie lives sounds so welcoming. The locals are so friendly and they really seem to open their arms for expats.

Natalie was such a great character. Sometimes I did want to give her a little shake because she frustrated me but on the whole, she was quite likeable. I could easily see us going shopping or for dinner and cocktails. The other characters in this book are easy to identify with and you can’t help but fall in love with Jay Marino. Jay is a good guy who really wants to help those in bad situations.

I was surprised to find myself halfway through the book as while it was an easy read not too much had happened. After that, the story quickly picks up speed. I raced through the second half of the book

This book was a pleasant read during a really busy time for me. I enjoyed this little escape from reality.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Karen Clarke

After giving up her job as a library assistant, Karen now writes full-time. She’s had over 300 stories published in women’s magazines in the UK and abroad, and has written three paranormal romantic comedies, published by Little, Brown/Corsair. When she’s not writing she reads avidly, walks dogs at her local rescue centre, and is eagerly awaiting the next season of The Walking Dead. She lives in Buckinghamshire with her husband and three grown-up children.

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


One response to “Blog Tour Review: Escape to the French Cafe

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.