Blog Tour Review: I’ll Be Home for Christmas

Posted 14th October 2019 by Emma in Blog Tours, Reviews / 2 Comments

Blog Tour Review: I'll Be Home for Christmas

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour Review: I’ll Be Home for ChristmasI'll Be Home for Christmas by Karen Clarke
Also by this author: The Beachside Sweet Shop, The Beachside Flower Stall, The Beachside Christmas, The Bakery at Seashell Cove
Series: Little French Cafe #3
Also in this series: Escape to the Little French Cafe, Summer at the Little French Cafe
Published by Bookouture on 14th October 2019
Genres: Chicklit, Christmas, Contemporary, Humour, Love & Romance, Romance, RomCom
Pages: 268
Format: eARC
Source: from Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon UK

Last Christmas, Nina gave away her heart – only to have it broken. But this year, at her family’s cosy café, could she find a second chance at love with someone special under the mistletoe?

Nina Bailey loves Christmas. Except this year she doesn’t. Because it turns out that her husband-to-be has been cheating on her – and her beautiful wedding ceremony in the snow is cancelled.

She’s not really in the mood to be jolly, sing carols, or go anywhere near gingerbread men – in fact, what Nina wants is to avoid the whole thing. So she’s come to stay at her Aunt Dolly’s cosy café to nurse her broken heart.

Nina is determined to get through Christmas with no tinsel, no fuss – and definitely no flirting. So when she arrives and meets infuriatingly handsome Ryan Sadler, with his gorgeous forest-green eyes, she is not best pleased. And when Nina overhears him making fun of her, she is furious. (There might have been an incident with a koala onesie and a spilled bottle of milk, but that really wasn’t her fault!) So despite the spark between them, and the fact that he can whip up a fabulous dinner faster than she can say Michelin star, romance and Christmas are off the menu this year.

Unfortunately, Aunt Dolly hasn’t quite got the message, going to great lengths to provide a proper British Christmas for her beloved niece: a true home away from home. With sparkling lights adorning every wall and a tree to equal the Rockefeller Center’s and, yes, mistletoe above every doorway, can Nina resist the magic of Christmas – and stick to her no-romance rule?

This heartwarming romantic comedy will have you reaching for eggnog, roasted chestnuts and gingerbread cookies! The perfect festive book to read curled up in front of the fire, for fans of Sue Moorcroft, Holly Martin and Debbie Johnson.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Thank you to Bookouture for my copy of this book. It’s the third book in the Little French Cafe series but all three books can be read as standalones.

This book follows Nina, who comes to visit her Aunt Dollie and her cousin Charlie. Dolly owns a little cafe in Chamillon, a lovely little French village. Nina wants to escape Christmas this year due to breaking off her engagement. I liked Nina. She’s not afraid to stand up for herself but she often jumps to the wrong conclusions.

Also looking to escape is Charlie’s best friend Ryan. Ryan also recently broke off an engagement and has come to Chamillon to try to write his second book. Ryan has severe writer’s block. I instantly like Ryan. I thought he was funny and a bit of a cheeky chappie.

Aunt Dolly tries her best to matchmake these two despite their pasts. It’s clear from the beginning that these two were made for each other but I enjoyed Dolly’s matchmaking efforts. Aunt Dolly is a little devious at times but she does have the best intentions at heart.

This book has a slow build-up and is full of embarrassing moments followed by some really romantic scenes. This book is perfect for snuggling up under a blanket with a hot drink. It has a real festive feel to it.

About Karen Clarke

After giving up her job as a library assistant, Karen now writes full-time. She’s had over 300 stories published in women’s magazines in the UK and abroad, and has written three paranormal romantic comedies, published by Little, Brown/Corsair. When she’s not writing she reads avidly, walks dogs at her local rescue centre, and is eagerly awaiting the next season of The Walking Dead. She lives in Buckinghamshire with her husband and three grown-up children.

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


2 responses to “Blog Tour Review: I’ll Be Home for Christmas

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.