Blog Tour Review: Dead Girl Walking

Posted 27th November 2020 by Emma in Blog Tours, Reviews / 1 Comment

Blog Tour Review: Dead Girl Walking

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

Blog Tour Review: Dead Girl WalkingDead Girl Walking by Roberta Gately
Also by this author: The Frozen Girl
Series: Jessie Novak #1
Also in this series: The Frozen Girl
Published by Bookouture on 24th November 2020
Genres: Crime, Suspense, Thriller
Pages: 307
Format: eARC
Source: from Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon KindleBookshopBookhype

“911. What’s your emergency?”“He came for her. She’s been shot,” says a desperate voice, as footsteps echo down an alley. “She’s dying.”“Oh no, oh no, he’s coming back. Please, come quickly––” And then a click, and the drone of a dial tone.
The beautiful young woman on the stretcher could be on her honeymoon. Chestnut hair tumbles around a pretty face, rose petals tangled in the loose strands. But the bandage around her forehead tells a different tale, as Emergency Room Nurse Jessie Novak desperately battles to keep her alive. Jessie’s thoughts are racing—who shot this beautiful young woman and more importantly, why?
Ann Hart’s life hangs by a thread, and Jessie cannot bear to see this beautiful young woman die without justice being done. Being a nurse is like hunting for clues, and Jessie is sure she can find the person who hurt Ann. She also asks her friend Detective Sam Dallas for help digging into Ann’s past. But then Jessie receives a gift that sends shivers up her spine: a huge bouquet of blood-red roses, just like the ones in Ann’s hair…
As the first snowflakes start to fall, another body turns up. Jessie is sure that she’s in danger too—since the roses, someone has been watching her… Sam is reluctant to see the link but Jessie knows she must find the culprit before he strikes again. He is stalking her through the frozen streets and he doesn’t want his fun to stop. Can Jessie turn the tables on the killer, or is she just a dead girl walking?
A totally addictive mystery novel that will leave you gasping for breath and have your heart thumping! Fans of Lisa Regan, Gregg Olsen and Tess Gerritsen will be completely hooked.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Thank you to bookouture for letting me take part in this tour and for my copy of this book via netgalley. This book is the first of a new series following Jessie Novak. Jessie is an ER nurse who becomes involved in helping to solve the shooting of Ann Hart.

This book was very interesting as it was a crime novel where the lead character was not a detective or even a police officer. This gave a very different POV. I love a good medical drama. I watch Greys Anatomy, The resident. Chicago Med, New Amsterdam, The Good Doctor. I’ll stop there because I could be here for days naming them all. Suffice to say I really enjoyed the ER aspect of this book.

I really liked Jessie. She has some guts and grit about her and I can’t wait to see more of her. She did at times have a bit of naivety about her, to the point where I wanted to shout don’t do that or don’t go there but I’m sure she’ll soon lose that.

This is probably not one of those crime thrillers that will give you a big shock ending but I really enjoyed following the clues.

I also enjoyed Jessie’s relationship with Rufus. He seems such a sweet old man. I think their friendship will be really good for the pair of them.

I’m very excited about where this series is going to go.

About Roberta Gately

Roberta Gately, lives in Boston where she works as a nurse at the Boston Medical Center. It was in the ER where she developed an interest in the investigations behind the crimes and the victims she encountered. Working in a busy ER is much like being a detective—the search for answers is a methodical process, not unlike the work required to solve a murder!

Her crime series with Bookouture stars the brave and brilliant ER nurse Jessie Novak who teams up with her detective friend to solve tricky Boston murder cases. Expect addictive mysteries, breathtaking suspense and a gutsy heroine you’ll never forget. When she’s not writing or working at the hospital, Roberta enjoys reading, working out and spending time with friends and family.

She has also worked in humanitarian aid, providing medical care in some of the world’s bleakest spots ranging from Africa to Afghanistan. Her two previous novels, Lipstick in Afghanistan and The Bracelet were based upon her experiences of nursing abroad. Her memoir—Footprints in the Dust tells the true stories of some of the extraordinary people she met.

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


One response to “Blog Tour Review: Dead Girl Walking

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.