Blog Tour Review: The Frozen Girl

Posted 18th May 2021 by Emma in Blog Tours, Reviews / 0 Comments

Blog Tour Review: The Frozen Girl

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

Blog Tour Review: The Frozen GirlThe Frozen Girl by Roberta Gately
Also by this author: Dead Girl Walking
Series: Jessie Novak #2
Also in this series: Dead Girl Walking
Published by Bookouture on 18th May 2021
Genres: Crime, Mystery, Suspense, Thriller
Pages: 301
Format: eARC
Source: from Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon Kindle

The young woman’s mouth is slightly parted, as if waiting to speak. Her body is frozen in ice and her blue eyes stare at the sky, perhaps wanting to look at the stars one last time…
When the body of a woman is found in the frozen Neponset River, just where it meets the sea, Jessie Novak and her partner Detective Sam Dallas rush to the scene. When Jessie sees a flash of a familiar silk scarf, she’s shocked to realize the girl in the ice is Sheila Logan, who she worked closely with for years at Boston City Hospital. Jessie desperately wants to find out how this young and talented nurse ended up an innocent victim.
But who would want to kill her? As she digs into Sheila’s past, Jessie realizes she was having an affair with a colleague and may even have been pregnant. Was her lover unwilling to be a father to her child? The pain of Sheila’s death threatens to tear open Jessie’s old wounds—Jessie’s own mother walked out on her when she was just a baby and never looked back. She can’t change her own past, but she’s determined to get justice for Sheila.
When Sheila’s neighbor is found dead, also wearing a distinctive scarf, Jessie sees a lethal pattern forming. Next, someone breaks into Jessie’s car and she knows she’s being warned off the case. But with the killer in her sights, will she take the deadliest risk of her life? Can Jessie catch him, before he catches up to her?
This utterly addictive novel will keep you up all night! Fans of Lisa Regan, Rachel Abbott and Tess Gerritsen will be totally hooked until the last heart-thumping page.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Thank you to Bookouture for my copy of this book via Netgalley and for letting me take part in this tour. I really enjoyed the first book in this series so I was eager to see what Jessie got herself caught up in this time.

Jessie is one of those people who loves to dig and dig until the truth is revealed no matter how ugly it is. This is an excellent skill for her new role. Jessie isn’t one to sit on her laurels and let other people do the work. It’s a pretty admiral quality to have if a little dangerous at times. I like Jessie, she’s caring and has guts.

The case itself was quite the mystery with every lead giving you more questions than answers. Jessie however was not going to give up. Roberta kept me intrigued throughout. I read this book in two big sittings as I just couldn’t put it down. The chapters are a good size that you can easily say oh just one more over and over, before you know it you’ve read half the book.

Roberta really got all of my emotions running in this book. In the first few chapters, I was wiping away the tears which I did not expect to happen so early on. There were also a few scenes where I knew what was going to happen and I was powerless to stop them. Like a car crash happening in slow motion and you can do absolutely nothing. They were important scenes but man, they were difficult to read.

This book is a great police procedural with a difference. I love seeing the medical side of things. I am a huge lover of medical dramas and any crossovers with police or fire are high up on my list.

About Roberta Gately

Roberta Gately, lives in Boston where she works as a nurse at the Boston Medical Center. It was in the ER where she developed an interest in the investigations behind the crimes and the victims she encountered. Working in a busy ER is much like being a detective—the search for answers is a methodical process, not unlike the work required to solve a murder!

Her crime series with Bookouture stars the brave and brilliant ER nurse Jessie Novak who teams up with her detective friend to solve tricky Boston murder cases. Expect addictive mysteries, breathtaking suspense and a gutsy heroine you’ll never forget. When she’s not writing or working at the hospital, Roberta enjoys reading, working out and spending time with friends and family.

She has also worked in humanitarian aid, providing medical care in some of the world’s bleakest spots ranging from Africa to Afghanistan. Her two previous novels, Lipstick in Afghanistan and The Bracelet were based upon her experiences of nursing abroad. Her memoir—Footprints in the Dust tells the true stories of some of the extraordinary people she met.

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.