Blog Tour Review: Some like it Greek

Posted 23rd August 2020 by Emma in Reviews / 1 Comment

Blog Tour Review: Some like it Greek

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

Blog Tour Review: Some like it GreekSome Like it Greek by Sue Roberts
Also by this author: A Very French Affair, As Greek as It Gets
Published by Bookouture on 21st August 2020
Genres: Chicklit, Contemporary, Humour, Love & Romance, RomCom
Pages: 238
Format: eARC
Source: from Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon Kindle

There’s nothing like a summer escape. A sun-kissed story about living life to the full.
In the month-from-hell, incurable optimist Anna has lost her father and her job, and her trademark smile is dimming. Clearing out her dad’s house, she discovers a postcard of a beautiful sandy beach and a map with a route plotted to the Greek island of Kefalonia. With an empty summer stretching ahead, Anna’s eyes stray to her father’s old camper van. Next thing she knows, she’s hitting the road with friend Demi in tow, on a course from Salford to Skala!
Over one unforgettable summer, Anna and Demi make their rickety way along the sparkling Mediterranean coast, the hot sun shining down on their frequent mishaps with cheerful local characters. It’s the trip of a lifetime, and the scent of lemons in the air – as well as an unexpected romance – are just what Anna needs to awaken her inner Greek goddess.
But there are big surprises in store when they arrive at the island paradise, which could change both women’s lives forever. And as summer comes to an end, Anna has to decide whether she has had enough of the Greek life, or whether this is only just the beginning…
A joyful, hilarious summer read, perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Jenny Colgan and Sophie Kinsella.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Thank you to Bookouture for my copy of this book via netgalley and for letting me take part in this tour. The last few books I have read have been a bit heavy so I was really looking forward to a change of pace with this one.

This book is the perfect summer escapism. Given the current climate in the world, I am not going to be going abroad this year but with this book, I don’t think I need to. Sue describes such wonderful places with such detail that I felt like I was right there with Anna and Demi. I have definitely added some places to my bucket list after this book. They visit such wonderful places and eat all the food. I was quite jealous of the food!

I’m definitely yearning for a road trip through Europe after reading this. I’m also wanting another trip to Greece. I’ve been to a few places in Greece and its islands but I’ve not been to Kefalonia. I think it will have to be my next trip. I’m part greek and I love visiting. I love the food, the atmosphere and did I mention the food!

Anna and Demi are such great characters. The main character is Anna but Demi is such a character that you just have to speak about her too. For a 69-year-old she’s doing very well! Anna is at a crossroads and is trying to figure out where to go with her life. I think it’s something we can all relate to. There is a little romance in this book too but the main focus is Anna and Demi and their journey.

If you are in need of an escapism book full of beautiful locations as well as a little romance then this is for you.

About Sue Roberts

Sue was born in Liverpool and moved to Lancashire as a teenager where she has lived ever since. She has written three books, the third ‘My Summer of love and limoncello.’ will be published on March 6th and she is busy working on a fourth book. When not busy writing, Sue spends her time with her ever growing family. She enjoys walking, cinema and travelling. Her first book ‘My Big Greek Summer.’ was inspired by frequent visits to the Island of Rhodes in Greece. All Sue’s books are available from Amazon in kindle and paperback format.

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


One response to “Blog Tour Review: Some like it Greek

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.