Blog Tour Review: A Very French Affair

Posted 6th July 2019 by Emma in Reviews / 1 Comment

Blog Tour Review: A Very French Affair

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour Review: A Very French AffairA Very French Affair by Sue Roberts
Published by Bookouture on 5th July 2019
Genres: Chicklit, Contemporary, Humour, Love & Romance
Pages: 263
Format: eARC
Source: from Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon

From Southport to the South of France – this is going to be a summer to remember! 

Life just got a whole lot more complicated for thirty-eight-year-old single mum Liv. Her son Jake is practically perfect in every way, but he’s started asking some difficult questions, and the answers lie in a holiday romance twenty years ago. Back when Liv was staying with her aunt on the French Riviera… 

Returning to the Cote d’Azur, with its white sandy beaches, her supportive aunt, and exquisite wine and cheese is harder than it sounds though. Because – if she’s going to give Jake the answers he needs – Liv knows she has to hunt down her first love Andre. And since she’s a professional baker rather than a professional investigator, she doesn’t even have a clue where to start. 

At first, finding the one that got away proves even trickier than she thought. And if she succeeds, how will he take the bombshell secret Liv has been keeping? Liv has to do the best thing for her family, but does that mean closing the door on this very French affair? 

A joyful, laugh-out-loud story about second chances, secrets and sunshine! The perfect summer read for fans of Carole Matthews, Jenny Colgan and Sophie Kinsella. 

Thank you to Bookouture for letting me take part in this tour and for my copy of this book via Netgalley. I have a few books by this author on my TBR pile but this is the first book I have managed to read.

First things first do not read this on an empty stomach. Sue does such a good job of describing the food in this book that your mouth will literally be watering. I am craving all sorts of food right now.

Liv is struggling as her 20-year-old son has started asking questions about his father. Live has always been honest about Jake’s father but now she’s not sure if she did enough to try to trace him. Liv is easy to like, she has some really great friends too. At some points, Liv is very mum like and worries quite a lot which I dd find slightly annoying but that could be me reverting back to my childhood.

I loved the relationships in this book. Liv and her son are very close as are Liv and her parents. It is lovely to see this. I also loved Liv’s friends Faye and Jo. Jo has the best stories, I couldn’t help but laugh at these.

This book has little drama, lots of laughs and romantic locations. The setting of this book was beautiful and I would love to go to the south of France. It sounds amazing. I can’t wait to dive into Sue’s other books and see where she takes me next.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Sue Roberts

Sue was born in Liverpool and moved to Lancashire as a teenager where she has lived ever since. She has written three books, the third ‘My Summer of love and limoncello.’ will be published on March 6th and she is busy working on a fourth book. When not busy writing, Sue spends her time with her ever growing family. She enjoys walking, cinema and travelling. Her first book ‘My Big Greek Summer.’ was inspired by frequent visits to the Island of Rhodes in Greece. All Sue’s books are available from Amazon in kindle and paperback format.

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


One response to “Blog Tour Review: A Very French Affair

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.