Blog Tour Review: The Bakery at Seashell Cove

Posted 10th June 2018 by Emma in Blog Tours, Reviews / 0 Comments

Blog Tour Review: The Bakery at Seashell Cove

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour Review: The Bakery at Seashell CoveThe Bakery at Seashell Cove by Karen Clarke
Also by this author: The Beachside Sweet Shop, The Beachside Flower Stall, The Beachside Christmas, The Christmas Cafe at Seashell Cove
Series: Seashell Cove #2
Also in this series: The Christmas Cafe at Seashell Cove
Published by Bookouture on 8th June 2018
Genres: Chicklit, Humour, Love & Romance
Pages: 262
Format: eARC
Source: from Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon

A warm welcome and delicious chocolate gateau are always on the menu at the Bakery at Seashell Cove – and this summer, romance is in the air…

Meg Larson thought she had everything she wanted: she works in the local bakery, she’s months away from marrying her high-school sweetheart, and home is beautiful, sunny Seashell Cove, where the sky is blue, the sea is turquoise and the sand is golden.

Except that the bakery is up for sale and her fiancé Sam’s more interested in bikes than their relationship. When Meg receives shocking news about her family, he’s on a cycling tour and ignoring her calls – and posting selfies on Facebook with a female cyclist he looks far too cosy with…

Luckily the bakery’s estate agent, Nathan, is understanding and funny, and as the summer goes on an unexpected friendship blossoms. When the bakery is given a second lease of life under a mysterious new owner, Meg realises a change might be exactly what she needs too.

Will Meg find the happy-ever-after she dreams of in Seashell Cove?

An uplifting, laugh-out-loud rom com that will make you dream of romantic days at the beach. Perfect for fans of Debbie Johnson, Holly Martin and Jenny Oliver. 

Thank you to Bookouture for letting me be part of this tour.  I loved Karen’s Beachside series and I was excited to dive back into her books.

This book follows Meg. Meg used to work at the Old Bakery until the owner passed away without a will. His brother isn’t interested in it so it’s up for sale. Meg has loved baking since she was a little girl and can’t imagine being happy doing anything else. I really liked Meg. She was a nice down to earth girl. She’s not afraid of a bit of hard work and is passionate about her baking.

From the moment we met Meg’s fiance Sam I hated him. He seemed selfish and unsupportive. He didn’t care about what Meg actually wanted at all. Whether it be her career or their wedding. He reminded me of my ex boyfriend in all honesty.

Now Nathan the dishy estate agent was definitely more to my liking and not only because he has the same name as my boyfriend. Nathan was very supportive of Meg. He encouraged her passion for baking and didn’t tell her to get a real job like Sam.

I also loved Meg’s friends Cassie and Tilly. They were such loyal and kind hearted people. They were supportive of Meg’s decisions and were really there for her in times of need.

Karen’s writing style was excellent. This is the perfect summer time book. It made me feel light and happy. I can’t wait to catch up on the other book in the Seashell Cove Series.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Karen Clarke

After giving up her job as a library assistant, Karen now writes full-time. She’s had over 300 stories published in women’s magazines in the UK and abroad, and has written three paranormal romantic comedies, published by Little, Brown/Corsair. When she’s not writing she reads avidly, walks dogs at her local rescue centre, and is eagerly awaiting the next season of The Walking Dead. She lives in Buckinghamshire with her husband and three grown-up children.

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.