Blog Tour Review: The Road Trip

Posted 13th June 2018 by Emma in Blog Tours, Reviews / 0 Comments

Blog Tour Review: The Road Trip

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour Review: The Road TripThe Road Trip by Susanne O'Leary
Published by Bookouture on 12th June 2018
Genres: Chicklit, Humour, Romance
Pages: 288
Format: eARC
Source: from Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon UK

Have you ever wanted to press the escape button?
Maddy and Leanne are in need of a miracle.

Maddy can’t bear to wash another pair of her husband’s Y-fronts and if he continues to drone on about golf she might just scream.

Leanne can’t stand living with her overbearing mother for a second longer and she’s one disapproving eye roll away from a nervous breakdown.

But their luck changes when they win the lottery.

Setting off from Dublin, Maddy and Leanne lease a red convertible, winding through Europe and heading for the sun-drenched French Riviera.

But the pair have their own reasons for their adventure. Maddy has never forgotten her summer romance of twenty years ago with a gorgeous Frenchman and Leanne plans to track down the father who abandoned her as a child.

Amongst glorious sunsets and buckets of bubbly, Leanne and Maddy are searching for answers after years of wondering ‘what if?’. But there might just be some surprises in store along the way…

A hilarious and heartwarming story about friendship, living life to the full and making the most of every moment. Fans of Fiona Gibson, Carole Matthews and Lucy Diamond will adore this uplifting, fun-filled read.

Thank you to Bookouture for letting me take part in this tour and for my copy of this book via Netgalley. I haven’t read anything by this author before and I liked the blurb so I thought I would give it a go. I’m always looking for new authors to fall in love with.

This story follows Maddy and Leanne as they take a road trip across Europe. Maddy is in her forties. Her children are all grown up and her and her husband have grown apart. Leanne is 32 and currently is still living with her mum. Her dad left a long time ago and it’s always been just the two of them. When the girls win big on their lotto syndicate they decide to spend the summer in Europe.

I liked both girls, really women, but I preferred Leanne. Leanne is feisty and impulsive. She is the sort of person we all want to be. As a friend she will talk you into doing all sorts of things that you wouldn’t have done otherwise. Maddy seemed a bit naive. She’d been holding on to this dream since she was young which was likely to never pan out. In all honesty I just felt a bit sorry for her. She did get a bit of spunk about half way through the book though which I liked.

I like Susanne’s writing style and there were some real funny scenes in this book. The humour was more subtle than laugh out loud but it was funny all the same. I also liked that the book was more about the girls friendship than about them falling in love. Don’t get me wrong I love a love story but it’s also nice to read about the other bonds in our lives.

The book is left mid way through the trip and I’m looking forward to seeing what the girls get up to next in The Boat Trip.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Susanne O’Leary

Susanne O’Leary is the bestselling author of fifteen novels, mainly in the romantic fiction genre. She has also written three crime novels and two in the historical fiction genre. She has been the wife of a diplomat (still is), a fitness teacher and a translator. She now writes full-time from either of two locations, a ramshackle house in County Tipperary, Ireland or a little cottage overlooking the Atlantic in Dingle, County Kerry. When she is not scaling the mountains of said counties (including MacGillycuddy’s Reeks, featured in Full Irish), or keeping fit in the local gym, she keeps writing, producing a book every six months.

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.