Blog Tour Review: Truly Madly Amy

Posted 23rd July 2022 by Emma in Reviews / 0 Comments

Blog Tour Review: Truly Madly Amy

I received this book for free for a Blog Tour in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour Review: Truly Madly AmyTruly, Madly, Amy by Kerry Wilkinson
Narrator: Joe Jameson
Also by this author: Last Night, The Death and Life of Eleanor Parker
Published by Bookouture on 21st July 2022
Genres: Contemporary, Humour, Love & Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 390
Length: 9 hours and 31 minutes
Format: Audiobook, eARC
Source: for a Blog Tour
Goodreads
Amazon KindleAudible

We all remember that one magical summer that changed our lives.
For Joe, it’s 1999. School is over, and with zero idea of what he’s meant to do for the rest of his life, he’s reluctantly accepted a job at the local summer camp. Anything to drown out the sharp grief of missing his dad and move on from what school calls his ‘anger problems’. But getting screamed at by hyperactive ten-year-olds is almost enough to make him quit on day one.
Almost.
Then he sees Amy Ashworth for the very first time, her black hair shining in the sun – and learns that nothing hits harder than first love.
She’s the only person he knows who reads for fun, or who’s seen Titanic fourteen times. But there’s another side to Amy. Soon, she’s the only person he’s ever been to a wild house party with, or kissed under the twinkling stars. It’s the happiest Joe has ever been… until the terrible day when what’s left of his family fractures into a million pieces.
Caught up in Amy’s whirlwind, Joe can’t bring himself to tell the truth about his life. Would his dad have wanted him to fight for the girl he loves, or protect his family, no matter what?
Only one thing is certain: this is the summer Joe will grow up. But when he looks back decades later, will he be ashamed of his choices? And will Amy still be by his side?
Heart-warming, hilarious, nostalgic, and bittersweet, Truly, Madly, Amy explores first loves, last chances, and the summers that shape us. Perfect for fans of David Nicholls, Mike Gayle, and anyone who remembers the carefree days of being just sixteen, when the world was full of possibility.

I’ve previously read two of Kerry’s books but they were both of the crime/thriller variety so I was excited to try a new genre by an author I already like.

This book gives you all those teenage feels. It’s full of nostalgia for school holidays, hormones that you don’t know what to do with and working out what to do with your life. At 16 in Joe is spending the summer figuring out his next move and working at a summer camp. In 1999 I was in my last year of primary school so I am a little but younger than Joe but I remember very similar feelings when I was his age.

I went to a few summer camps myself in my younger years and looking back I do feel for those in charge. It can’t have been a fun job trying to keep all those kids in check! I think the story was very realistic. Yes there was underage drinking but at 16 I was drinkning and sneaking into clubs that didn’t check for ID (not that my parents know that). When you are 16 you can’t wait to grow up and then you realise that growing up isn’t fun at all and you wish you were 16 again!

I mixed between ebook and audiobook. I really liked the narrator. He has an easy voice to listen to and I did find my self hearing his voice in my head when reading the ebook. I really felt like he made Joe his own charcater. This book is a light read that will leave you smiling chapter after chapter.

I really enjoyed this book. It’s a perfect summers afternoon/evening read. Grab an ice cream or a cold drink, slap on some sun cream and enjoy this one while the sun’s still out.

About Kerry Wilkinson

Kerry Wilkinson has had No.1 bestsellers in the UK, Canada, South Africa and Singapore, as well as top-five books in Australia. He has also written two top-20 thrillers in the United States.

As well as his million-selling Jessica Daniel series, Kerry has written the Silver Blackthorn trilogy – a fantasy-adventure serial for young adults – a second crime series featuring private investigator Andrew Hunter, plus numerous standalone novels. He has been published around the world in more than a dozen languages.

Originally from the county of Somerset, Kerry has spent far too long living in the north of England, picking up words like ‘barm’ and ‘ginnel’.

When he’s short of ideas, he rides his bike or bakes cakes. When he’s not, he writes it all down.

Upcoming US releases:
Behind Closed Doors (Jessica Daniel 7): Out now
Two Sisters (standalone): Out now
The Girl Who Came Back (standalone): Out now
Crossing The Line (Jessica Daniel 8): Out now
Scarred For Life (Jessica Daniel 9): Out now
One Cloudy Night (standalone): Spring 2018
The Death And Life Of Eleanor Parker (standalone): June 2018
For Richer, For Poorer (Jessica Daniel 10): 2018
Nothing But Trouble (Jessica Daniel 11): 2018

Recent and upcoming UK releases:
Eye For An Eye (Jessica Daniel): Out now
Last Night (standalone): Out now
The Death And Life Of Eleanor Parker (standalone): 22 June 2018
To Have And To Hold (standalone): October 2018

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.