Blog Tour Review: Hidden Lake

Posted 25th August 2020 by Emma in Blog Tours, Reviews / 1 Comment

Blog Tour Review: Hidden Lake

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

Blog Tour Review: Hidden LakeHidden Lake by Ruhi Choudhary
Series: Detective Mackenzie Price #1
Published by Bookouture on 19th August 2020
Genres: Crime, Mystery, Suspense, Thriller
Pages: 414
Format: eARC
Source: from Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon Kindle

How many secrets can one town bury?
When she was just twelve years old, Mackenzie Price came home to find her father bleeding to death on the kitchen floor. She will never forget that night, nor what her mother asked her to do…
Twenty years later, Detective ‘Mack’ Price is back in Lakemore, despite vowing never to return. Determined to atone for the sins of the past, she is unstoppable in her quest for justice.
When eighteen-year-old Abigail Correia goes missing, Mack is convinced that the case is linked to Erica Perez, who disappeared exactly one year before. Unlike Abby, Erica is the daughter of one of the town’s most powerful men, but still no trace of her has been found.
As Mack endeavours to find Abby and bring her back alive, she and her team unearth a shocking secret at the heart of this small town. But that is not the only secret that lurks beneath the surface, as Mack knows only too well…
The first book in the Detective Mack Price series, Hidden Lake is a haunting and utterly unputdownable crime thriller, perfect for fans of Lisa Regan, Angela Marsons and Karin Slaughter.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Thank you to Bookouture for letting me take part in this tour and for my copy of this book via Netgalley. I love a good crime novel and finding new favourite authors so I jumped at the chance of reading from a debut author.

Detective Mackenzie (Mack) Price did not have the best start in life. Her father was a drunk and abused her mother. At 12 years old she helped her mother bury her farther in the woods behind their house. The trauma of this has never left Mack. She is still suffering the effects of this now. Mack is a good detective. She cares and is determined. I really liked Mack and I felt really bad for some of the personal issues she has. I just wanted to give her a hug.

The case in this book was quite the mystery. I honestly had no idea where Ruhi was going with this one. I was so stumped. There were so many pieces of the puzzle but none of them seemed to fit! Ruhi does a very good job with the pace of the story. I was gripped the whole way through.

I am now dying for the next story in this book because I have so many questions about Mack and what is going to happen next to her. I also want to learn more about her past. What happened between when she was 12 and now. Oh, I need to know!

About Ruhi Choudhary

Ruhi Choudhary discovered her passion for writing when she was seven years old and wrote her first Star Trek episode. Being a fan of the dark and twisted, she found her calling in crime thrillers.

She likes to write stories that make you a little uncomfortable and characters that you struggle to make up your mind about but stay with you.

She lives in Toronto and spends her days training to be a scientist and wishing it rained more often!

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


One response to “Blog Tour Review: Hidden Lake

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.