Blog Tour Review: Final Second

Posted 6th October 2020 by Emma in Blog Tours, Reviews / 2 Comments

Blog Tour Review: Final Second

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

Blog Tour Review: Final SecondFinal Second by John Ryder
Also by this author: First Shot
Series: Grant Fletcher #2
Also in this series: First Shot
Published by Bookouture on 5th October 2020
Genres: Crime, Mystery, Suspense, Thriller
Pages: 341
Format: eARC
Source: from Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon KindleBookshopBookhype

Sometimes it takes a stranger to find a killer…
In a small farming town in rural Wisconsin—where generations of families have lived in peace for decades—no one expects trouble to come calling.
But then a farmer’s beautiful young wife is found brutally murdered, with a chilling calling card that suggests she’s just the first victim of a serial killer. And the FBI elect not to send one of their own. Instead they send a stranger to town—former Royal Marine turned mercenary, Grant Fletcher. And they’re giving him no choice. Find the killer. Because we know what you’ve done.
With the threat of the executioner’s chair hanging over him, Fletcher finds himself in an impossible situation—and a race against time. Catch a murderer whose killings are escalating with every day that passes. Or face certain death…
Fans of Lee Child's Jack Reacher, Robert Ludlum's Jason Bourne and David Baldacci’s Amos Decker will love the Grant Fletcher series.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Thank you to Bookouture for my copy of this book via Netgalley and for letting me take part in this tour. I read the first book in this series earlier in the year and LOVED it so I was very excited to read book 2.

In this book, Grant is put on a test case. He must find the killer or the evidence of his crimes will reappear. Intriguing right? Grant Fletcher is a guy who will do what needs to be done. He has a lot of pride and he isn’t a man who easily gives up. His skills as an ex-Royal Marine are exactly what are needed in this mission. He’s been through a hell of a lot in both his personal and professional life.

Grant has an FBI ‘handler’ Zoey Quadrado. I really like Zoey. She may be young and pretty new to the job but I think she has the guts and the instinct to be a fine agent. I think she also balances out Grant. These two make a really good team.

The case itself is quite the mystery and it took me a while to work out who the killer was. Grant did quite the job investigating given his lack of resources. John kept me on edge throughout the book and the scenes towards the end were very stressful. I honestly didn’t know what was going to happen!

I really enjoyed this book and cannot wait to see what Grant and Zoey’s next mission will be.

About John Ryder

John Ryder is a former farmworker and joiner. He’s turned his hand to many skills to put food on the table and clothes on his back. A life-long bibliophile, he eventually summoned the courage to try writing himself, and his Grant Fletcher novels have drawn inspiration from authors such as Lee Child, Tom Cain, Zoe Sharp and Matt Hilton. When it comes to future novels, he says he has more ideas than time to write them.

When not writing, John enjoys spending time with his son, reading and socialising with friends. A fanatic supporter of his local football team, he can often be found shouting encouragement to men much younger and fitter than he is.

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


2 responses to “Blog Tour Review: Final Second

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.