Blog Tour Review: Silent Night

Posted 23rd August 2019 by Emma in Blog Tours, Reviews / 3 Comments

Blog Tour Review: Silent Night

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour Review: Silent NightSilent Night by Geraldine Hogan
Series: Detective Iris Locke #1
Published by Bookouture on 23rd August 2019
Genres: Crime, Suspense, Thriller
Pages: 301
Format: eARC
Source: from Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon

‘She reached into the pram and placed her hands on the cotton blanket. It was still warm. But her smiling, new baby sister, with her wide blue-grey eyes, was gone...’

Twenty five years later, three bodies are found at a ramshackle cottage in the Irish countryside, and Detective Iris Locke is sick to her stomach. The victims are Anna Crowe and her two young children.

Iris has only recently joined the Limerick Murder Squad. Against her father’s advice, she’s working the narrow lanes and green hills of her childhood. Iris still remembers Anna, who was just a small girl when her baby sister was snatched, never to be seen again. It was the one case Iris’ own father never solved, and Iris can’t help but wonder if the two crimes are connected.

She’ll stop at nothing to find Anna justice, but a fire has destroyed almost all the physical evidence, and Limerick is the same small town she remembers: everybody protects their neighbours, and Iris has been away for too long.

Can Iris unpick the lies beneath the surface of her pretty hometown, and catch the most twisted individual of her career, when reopening the old case means reopening old wounds for her team, the rest of the community, and her own father?

Fans of Patricia Gibney, Angela Marsons and L.J. Ross won’t want to miss this – the first book in a gripping and unputdownable new crime series

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Thank you to Bookouture for my copy of this book via Netgalley and for letting me take part in this tour. I love a detective series and I’m always on the hunt for new ones. I’m also a sucker for an Irish accent so I couldn’t wait to get stuck in.

From the very first chapter, I was hooked! The prologue pulled me in. I also love Iris Locke. She is independent, determined and strong. Iris has already been through the mill on a previous case and is now trying to find her place. She wants to go to Dublin where she won’t be in her father’s shadow.

There were lots of side characters that I liked in this story. I look forward to seeing more of them as the series grows.

This book is extremely gripping. From the off the pace is high and it never lets up. Geraldine kept me on the edge of my seat. I did guess the twist before it was revealed but it was still a damn good one.

I really enjoyed this book and I honestly cannot wait for the second book in the series. I miss these characters already!

About Geraldine Hogan

Geraldine Hogan was born in Ireland. She gained an Honors Degree in English Literature and Psychology from Dublin City University and a Postgraduate Degree in Training and Management from University College, Galway. She is an Irish award-winning and bestselling author of four contemporary fiction novels under the pen name Faith Hogan.
Silent Night is her first crime novel, her second is due out in December 2019.
She is currently working on her next novel. She lives in the west of Ireland with her husband, four children and a very busy Labrador named Penny. She’s a writer, reader, enthusiastic dog walker and reluctant jogger – except of course when it is raining!

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


3 responses to “Blog Tour Review: Silent Night

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.