Blog Tour Review: The Spare Bedroom

Posted 1st May 2020 by Emma in Reviews / 1 Comment

Blog Tour Review: The Spare Bedroom

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

Blog Tour Review: The Spare BedroomThe Spare Bedroom by Elizabeth Neep
Also by this author: Never Say No
Published by Bookouture on 1st May 2020
Genres: Chicklit, Contemporary, Humour, Love & Romance
Pages: 364
Format: eARC
Source: from Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon Kindle

**Listed Today**: Fun and friendly professional just arrived from London seeks flat share in central location, double bed preferred, ex-boyfriend optional extra.
Armed with a super-sized backpack full of optimism, Jess sets off in search of sun, sea and a much-needed new beginning.
Things don’t get off to a good start.
Instead of sunshine, she’s met with torrential rain. Her job prospects are as dismal as the weather and that friend-of-a-friend she was meant to stay with has fallen through. Just as Jess is homeless, jobless and wishing she’d gone for the waterproof mascara, she runs into the last person she expected to see. Sam. The ex she never got over. Jess always believed that one day fate would bring them back together. Now he’s here, more gorgeous than ever.
Before she knows it, Jess is accepting Sam’s offer to stay in his spare room. But while she may have been less than truthful about the mess she’s in, there is also one rather important thing Sam has neglected to mention.
Suddenly Jess isn’t just living with her ex, but with his new girlfriend too. All of that baggage she thought she left behind may have caught up with her…
A touching, funny and uplifting look at how finding and losing love can lead you to discover yourself along the way. Fans of The Flatshare, Sophie Kinsella and classic rom coms like My Best Friend’s Wedding will love Elizabeth Neep’s wit and warmth.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Thank you to Bookouture for my copy of this book via Netgalley and for letting me take part in this tour. This is Elizabeth’s debut book and I was excited to read a new book from a new author.

The main character in this book is Jess. Jess has essentially run away because she isn’t where she thought she would be in life. She was meant to be the one that was sorted and grown-up but now everyone else has got their lives together and she is back at square one. Jess was a frustrating character at times but it wasn’t all her fault. A lot of the blame also lays with Sam. Jess often saw what she wanted to see that is true but Sam could have also been a lot clearer with her. Jess is a very realistic character she makes the same mistakes that many of us have made. I wanted to pick her up and give her a hug and tell her everything would be okay on more than one occasion. But I also wanted to shake her and tell her to sort her life out a lot too.

I really liked Elizabeth’s writing style. It was fresh, funny and real. I like a book that shows people how they really are. No-one is perfect so why should characters be any different. Everyone has flaws and these characters had those too. Don’t get me wrong they also had a lot of redeeming qualities, they were very kind and open and put up with a lot more than I think I could.

The end of this book is perfect! It leaves you feeling optimistic for the next part of Jess’ life. I am looking forward to reading more of Elizabeth’s books in the future.

About Elizabeth Neep

Elizabeth Neep was born in 1990 in Derbyshire and now lives in London Bridge. After studying Law at the University of Nottingham and the University of New South Wales, she worked in magazine journalism, most noticeably writing for Dazed and Confused and PETRIe. Elizabeth now works as a non-fiction Senior Commissioning Editor and writes and paints in her spare time.

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


One response to “Blog Tour Review: The Spare Bedroom

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.