Blog Tour Review: Her Last Whisper

Posted 21st October 2019 by Emma in Blog Tours, Reviews / 2 Comments

Blog Tour Review: Her Last Whisper

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour Review: Her Last WhisperHer Last Whisper by Jennifer Chase
Also by this author: Little Girls Sleeping
Series: Detective Katie Scott #2
Also in this series: Little Girls Sleeping
Published by Bookouture on 21st OCtober 2019
Genres: Crime, Suspense, Thriller
Pages: 330
Format: eARC
Source: from Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon UK

Katie focuses her mind, trying to keep another anxiety attack at bay. The victim’s long brown hair is slick and wet, her body rigid in the grass. She looks more like a mannequin than the woman Katie had spoken with only yesterday, the woman she had promised to protect…

When a cold, naked body is discovered by a couple on a jog through the lush woodlands of Pine Valley, California, new recruit Detective Katie Scott is stunned to discover the victim is Amanda Payton – a much-loved local nurse and the woman at the heart of an unsolved case she’s been investigating whilst getting a grip on her crippling PTSD.

Weeks earlier, Amanda had run, battered and bruised, out into the headlights of a passing patrol car. She claimed to have just escaped a kidnapping, but with no strong evidence, the case went cold. The Pine Valley police made a fatal mistake…

Katie is certain the marks on Amanda’s wrists complete a pattern of women being taken, held captive and then showing up dead in remote locations around Pine Valley – and she won’t let someone die on her watch again.

But then a beautiful office worker with a link to the hospital where Amanda worked goes missing. With only days before the next body is due to show up, can Katie make amends for her past by saving this innocent life?

Totally gripping crime fiction for fans of Lisa Regan, Rachel Caine and Melinda Leigh. Nothing will prepare you for this nail-biting roller-coaster ride…

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Thank you to Bookouture for my copy of this book via Netgalley and for letting me take part in this tour. I enjoyed the first book in this series so I was excited to get back into the life of Katie Scott. Even though this is the second book in the series you could read it as a stand-alone.

After solving the case of the missing girls (in book 1) Katie Scott has been assigned to the cold case department. When looking through the cases and deciding where to start Katie notices a case that is only 6 months old. Pretty uncommon for cold cases. Katie decides to do some digging but the victim is then found dead a few days later.

Katie is assigned the case along with McGaven. These two work really well together and I can see this becoming a long term partnership. I also enjoyed the K9 elements to the book. It was good to see Cisco having a purpose now he’s no longer an official working dog.

The case is quite baffling. The detectives seemed to have a lot to do with very little leads on a suspect. It seemed like they were overwhelmed with information but not all of it very helpful. The case was quite twisty and had me on the edge quite a lot. Katie likes to put herself in dangerous situations which really stress me out.

I loved seeing more of Katie’s personal life and background. The side story with her sergeant was heartwarming with the important message that life is too short for silly arguments. I hope we get to see more of Katie’s personal life as the series continues.

About Jennifer Chase

Jennifer Chase is a multi award-winning and best-selling crime fiction author, as well as a consulting criminologist. Jennifer holds a bachelor degree in police forensics and a master’s degree in criminology & criminal justice. These academic pursuits developed out of her curiosity about the criminal mind as well as from her own experience with a violent psychopath, providing Jennifer with deep personal investment in every story she tells. In addition, she holds certifications in serial crime and criminal profiling. She is an affiliate member of the International Association of Forensic Criminologists, and member of the International Thriller Writers.

Jennifer Chase was born and raised in California and still lives there with her husband, dogs and cats. In addition to writing and consulting, Jennifer enjoys spending time outdoors, both at the beach and hiking, and engaging in some amateur photography.

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


2 responses to “Blog Tour Review: Her Last Whisper

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.