Blog Tour Review: Perfect Little Dolls

Posted 18th January 2021 by Emma in Blog Tours, Reviews / 1 Comment

Blog Tour Review: Perfect Little Dolls

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

Blog Tour Review: Perfect Little DollsPerfect Little Dolls by Karen Long
Also by this author: Cry for Mercy
Series: DI Eleanor Raven #2
Also in this series: Cry for Mercy
Published by Bookouture on 18th January 2021
Genres: Crime, Suspense, Thriller
Pages: 268
Format: eARC
Source: from Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon Kindle

The little boy played with his toy trains in the bedroom, keeping quiet so as not to wake his mother. He stayed silent as he watched his window creaking open and heard the whisper from outside. A minute later, Tommy and the trains were gone.
An unrelenting heatwave sweeps the country and starts a fire which uncovers the charred remains of a young woman. But when DI Eleanor Raven attends the post-mortem it reveals some disturbing details—the girl was dead long before the fire, her body had been lovingly preserved before being dressed up, her hair perfectly arranged, and a lime-green scarf knotted around her neck.
With little evidence surviving the fire, Eleanor and her team have no solid leads. But back on duty after six months’ enforced leave, Eleanor is determined to prove herself fit for service, and she won’t accept that this case could prove impossible.
Following a tenuous link to an old missing-persons case, Eleanor discovers the poor woman’s identity: Giselle Baker was a young dancer at a local bar before she disappeared two years ago, leaving behind a worried roommate and, concealed amongst her things, a curious wooden carving of a snake. Before Eleanor can uncover the significance of the toy though, another woman goes missing, and then, a little boy… It seems that someone is collecting a family for themselves.
As Eleanor battles her own demons, she pushes herself to the limit to find the killer. But her fight to save his last innocent victim may become a battle to save herself…
A totally gripping, fast-paced mystery thriller that will leave your jaw on the floor. The next rollercoaster read for fans of Lisa Regan, Angela Marsons and Robert Dugoni.
Perfect Little Dolls was previously published as The Vault.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Thank you to Bookouture for my copy of this book via Netgalley and for letting me take part in this tour. I enjoyed the first book in this series so I was excited to see what happened next to DI Raven.

As in the first book, Eleanor makes no apologies for who she is. She also, it appears, hasn’t learnt from her mistakes. She is still not trusting her partner and she is still running off on her and getting herself in danger. She is still recovering from the trauma of what happened in the first book and her past. Eleanor is one of those people that hold everything in and the guilt is starting to consume her.

I think Eleanor and Laurence grow as a partnership in this book which was nice to see.

The case itself was creepy AF. The story was told from both Eleanor and the perps perspectives. This case was more of a how is she going to catch him than a whodunnit. It seemed that there were no connections to the victims at first.

This book is not action, action, action. It’s all about the details, the evidence gathering and thinking outside the box. It really kept my attention and was very easy to read. I look forward to reading the third book in this series soon.

About Karen Long

Karen Long was born in Wolverhampton but has spent the last few years living in California. She worked as an English and Drama teacher for many years, before becoming a full-time writer.

She has written screenplays and articles, but primarily dedicates her time to writing crime fiction and observing wildlife. She loves to travel, which is a great source of inspiration; Toronto became the backdrop to the Eleanor Raven series of thrillers after Karen spent several months there.

A passionate conservationist and lover of the crow family in particular, she has rehabilitated and adopted ravens, crows, magpies and rooks, many of whom became integrated into family life, much to the distress of household members and soft furnishings. She now volunteers regularly at Los Angeles Oiled Bird Care Centre.

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


One response to “Blog Tour Review: Perfect Little Dolls

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.