Review: Serpent & Dove

Posted 14th June 2020 by Emma in Reviews / 0 Comments

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

Review: Serpent & DoveSerpent & Dove by Shelby Mahurin
Narrator: Holter Graham, Saskia Maarleveld
Published by HarperAudio on 9th September 2019
Genres: Fantasy, Magic, Romance, YA Fantasy, Young Adult
Length: 14 hours and 13 minutes
Format: Audible
Source: I bought it
Goodreads
Amazon Kindle

Bound as one, to love, honor, or burn. Book one of a stunning fantasy duology, this tale of witchcraft and forbidden love is perfect for fans of Kendare Blake and Sara Holland.
Two years ago, Louise le Blanc fled her coven and took shelter in the city of Cesarine, forsaking all magic and living off whatever she could steal. There, witches like Lou are hunted. They are feared. And they are burned.
As a huntsman of the Church, Reid Diggory has lived his life by one principle: Thou shalt not suffer a witch to live. But when Lou pulls a wicked stunt, the two are forced into an impossible situation - marriage.
Lou, unable to ignore her growing feelings, yet powerless to change what she is, must make a choice. And love makes fools of us all.
Set in a world of powerful women, dark magic, and off-the-charts romance, book one of this stunning fantasy duology will leave listeners burning for more.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

OMG I LOVED THIS BOOK!

I love these two narrators so when I first started listening to this book I was already hooked. If you haven’t listened to books by these two then you are seriously missing out! These two make this story even more magical than it already was!

The book is written from 2 POV, Lou and Reid. Lou is read by Saskia and Reid by Holter. I raced through this book. I was absolutely hooked. Lou is very funny and so is Reid without knowing it. This book is full of unexpected love, friendships and magic.

It’s addictive and easy to read. It’s a light fantasy which focuses on the romance as well as the magic. I liked that there were different types of witches yet the guard were so unaware of the differences. I thought the exchange system was interesting and makes a witch think about if using magic is worthwhile. It shows that everything has consequences.

This book is very well written and thought out. It’s surprising that this is Shelby’s debut as it reads much more like a seasoned author. I can tell that Shelby is going to be a favourite for me for years to come. I cannot wait for the next book which is not out until September!

About Shelby Mahurin

Shelby Mahurin grew up on a small farm in rural Indiana, where sticks became wands and cows became dragons. Her rampant imagination didn’t fade with age, so she continues to play make-believe every day—with words now instead of cows. When not writing, Shelby watches the Office and obsesses over her Twitter feed. She still lives near that childhood farm with her very tall husband, semi-feral toddlers, two dogs, and one cat.

Shelby’s favorite books include A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas, Uprooted by Naomi Novik, The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, and, of course, Harry Potter.

Her debut novel, SERPENT & DOVE, will release from Harper Teen in Fall 2019, with a sequel to come the following year. She is represented by Sarah Landis of Sterling Lord Literistic.

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.