Blog Tour Review: Nightborn

Posted 27th May 2020 by Emma in Reviews / 0 Comments

Blog Tour Review: Nightborn

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

Blog Tour Review: NightbornNightborn by Jessica Thorne
Also by this author: Mageborn
Series: The Hollow King #2
Also in this series: Mageborn
Published by Bookouture on 26th May 2020
Genres: Fantasy, Love & Romance, Magic, Supernatural
Pages: 382
Format: eARC
Source: from Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon

Like deep dark water, it pulls them down. The faint fire of magic within them flickers and dies. Their eyes turn black as night. They are nightborn now.
Grace Marchant has been many things: streetwise orphan, rebellious servant, and now beloved companion of Prince Bastien, heir to the throne of Larelwynn. But their sunlit happiness is not destined to last. The golden magic which brought them together in purest passion is threatened by strange and ancient forces. Innocent people are becoming nightborn – cruel, deadly, unrecognisable to their loved ones – and these two young lovers are the only ones with power enough to stop it.
In times of peace, striking a deal with their closest enemy would be unthinkable, but now their only hope is to ally with the neighbouring Valenti royal family: manipulative, cunning, and always with an eye on the Larelwynn throne. The partnership comes at a devastating price… if Grace wants to defeat the nightborn, she must watch Bastien marry a Valenti princess.
Grace knows she must make this heart-wrenching sacrifice for the good of the whole kingdom – but she also fears the magic in her veins, usually so warm and bright, is turning cold as deepest midnight. A beguiling darkness whispers to her from within. Is Grace herself becoming nightborn?
Time is running out. With Bastien promised to another, and a stony distance growing between them, will Grace find the source of the nightborn curse before every last soul is consumed by the darkness?
Combining sizzling romance, courtly intrigue, and heart-in-your-mouth action, this dark and addictive fantasy series is perfect for fans of Graceling and Emily R. King.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Thank you to Bookouture for letting me take part in this tour and for my copy of the book via Netgalley. The first book in this series had a slow start but I became hooked by the end so I had to read this second book.

I read the first book back in February and well a lot has happened since then and I struggled to remember how the first book ended. A small summary at the beginning of this book would have been helpful to refresh my memory and get me back into the world. Much like the first book I did find the first 30% to be quite slow. Once I broke through the 30% mark I raced to the end. I really enjoyed the writing and it was easy to turn page after page. The story moves along nicely without feeling rushed.

The book is full of action, twists and turns. Grace was feisty and kick ass. She fought right the way through and never gave up. I really admire Grace for that. Bastien, in my opinion, is still a little naive in this book. He relies on his status a bit too much and, well, let’s say it doesn’t always end well.

There are an absolute host of side characters which I loved. We saw Kurt Parry develop more in this book too. It was nice to see what was going on in Eastferry while Grace and Bastien were in Valenti. It helped to give a whole picture of the world rather than just a one-dimensional view of where the main character is.

The ending left it open for another book which I really hope we get as I feel the story is not quite finished.

About Jessica Thorne

Jessica Thorne saw Star Wars at an impressionable age and life was never the same. She’s loved fantasy, romance and science fiction ever since and spends her time looking for adventure – in the pages of her books.

Sometimes she is Ruth Frances Long and won the European Science Fiction Society Spirit of Dedication Award for Best Author of Children’s Science Fiction and Fantasy, 2015.

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.