Blog Tour Review: Find Me in the Dark

Posted 21st October 2021 by Emma in Reviews / 1 Comment

Blog Tour Review: Find Me in the Dark

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour Review: Find Me in the DarkFind Me in the Dark by Dea Poirier
Narrator: Lisa Rost-Welling
Series: Detective Harlow Durant #1
Published by Bookouture on 21st October 2021
Genres: Crime, Suspense, Thriller
Pages: 300
Length: 8 hours and 29 minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: from Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon KindleAudible

She’d been running for so long, it felt like her legs were on fire. Her heart was pounding so hard, she was sure it would give out. Around her, the snow was falling, casting an eerie silence over the town. A crack behind her, a foot snapping a branch, it warned her that he was still coming. She whipped around and saw the knife gleaming in his hand…
As the snow begins to melt across Plattsburgh, New York, the body of a young woman is found buried in a snowbank. When Detective Harlow Durant arrives at the scene she discovers that the victim has lain there for months: her arresting beauty, brightly-coloured nails and a distinctive gold bracelet perfectly preserved in the ice.
Searching missing person reports, Harlow soon identifies the victim as college student Alyssa Trent. Her grieving family describe her as someone who had no enemies and was a dedicated student. But Alyssa’s tutor has a different view: they claim Alyssa had another life that she kept hidden. But who would want her dead?
Harlow knows all about secret lives. She has spent years running from her past and from her father, a convicted serial killer. As the only female detective at the Bureau of Criminal Investigation, Harlow has vowed to bring killers to justice. Now she needs to find justice for Alyssa.
When another female student is found in the thawing snow, Harlow knows that she is hunting a twisted killer. The victims knew each other but what dark secret connects them? With the small-town reeling in shock and more snow coming, Harlow knows she needs to stop a killer dead in their tracks before another innocent life is lost.
From the bestselling author of Next Girl To Die comes an addictive crime thriller perfect for fans of Melinda Leigh, Kendra Elliot and Robert Dugoni’s Tracy Crosswhite series.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Thank you to Bookouture for letting me take part in this tour and for my copy of this book via Netgalley. I was lucky enough to get an audio ARC of this book as well as an ebook. I had a day of essentially data entry at work so the audio was the perfect thing to stop me from falling asleep.

Detective Harlow Durant has been through so much. she has spent her life dealing with the consequences of her father’s actions. I was disappointed that so many officers were determined to ruin Harlow’s life. Harlow is trying to right her father’s wrongs by hunting killers and so many officers seem to think that the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree. Some people are so small-minded. I really liked Harlow. She knows how to stand up for herself and doesn’t take crap from anyone! At times I did think she was a little harsh on her partner but I think she is just o used to having to be defensive that she’s forgotten how to have someone on her side. Dea also perfectly wove in Harlow’s past. I can’t wait for more of that to be unravelled as the series progresses.

I really liked Harlow’s partner Lucas. I know he’s a bit green but I think he has good instincts and that will help him go far. He’s also got a good heart. He came into the police for good reasons. I do hope Harlow decides to stay put this time as I’d like to see her relationship with Lucas develop. The rest of the cops in this book were either useless, creeps or both. I don’t know how Harlow puts up with them. If they aren’t making lewd comments about her then they are bullying poor Lucas.

The case was quite a strange one with so many dead ends. I felt so frustrated for Harlow and Lucas. I had absolutely no idea who the killer was. Dea did an excellent job of hiding it from me.

Lisa made a really great narrator for this book too. I thought she did an excellent job of building the suspense and tension through the book.

I really enjoyed this book. I blitzed through this in pretty much one day I was loathed to stop listening for a meeting I had at the end of the day with only 30 minutes left! This was an excellent start to what I hope will be a thrilling series!

About Dea Poirier

Author Dea (D.H) Poirier is the author of NEXT GIRL TO DIE, which hit #1 in the Amazon charts. She was raised in Edmond, Oklahoma, where she got her start writing in creative writing courses. She attended The University of Central Oklahoma for Computer Science and Political Science. Later, she spent time living on both coasts, and traveling the United States, before finally putting down roots in Central Florida. She now resides somewhere between Disney and the swamp. She spends her days at her day job as a President of Digital Marketing, and her nights writing manuscripts.

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


One response to “Blog Tour Review: Find Me in the Dark

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.