Blog Tour Review: The House on Firefly Beach

Posted 7th June 2020 by Emma in Reviews / 2 Comments

Blog Tour Review: The House on Firefly Beach

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

Blog Tour Review: The House on Firefly BeachThe House on Firefly Beach by Jenny Hale
Also by this author: Coming Home For Christmas, Summer by the Sea, A Christmas to Remember, The Summer House
Series: Firefly Beach #2
Also in this series: Summer at Firefly Beach
Published by Bookouture on 5th June 2020
Genres: Chicklit, Contemporary, Humour, Love & Romance
Pages: 222
Source: from Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon

Nothing beats falling in love under the sun, with the sand beneath your feet. This gorgeous, feel-good, and heartwarming summer escape from the bestselling author of The Summer House is perfect for fans of Mary Alice Monroe, Susan Mallery and Nancy Thayer.
For Sydney Flynn, her treasured family home, Starlight Cottage, is her sanctuary. The house on the beach, surrounded by glittering turquoise waters, is the perfect place for her fresh start, piecing her life back together after it fell apart. That’s until her knees almost buckle at the sight of Nate Henderson.
As teenagers, Sydney and Nate spent their summers whispering sweet nothings and promising “forever” to each other. Sydney never imagined that her childhood sweetheart was going to break her heart, driving away from her and Firefly Beach, never looking back.
Now, when Sydney spots him at her sister’s wedding, their eyes meeting across the rows of guests, she barely recognizes him. The down-to-earth son of a fisherman, forever in beach t-shirts and flip flops, is replaced with a successful songwriter in a designer suit, a superstar in the country music scene. Yet despite everything, his dazzling blue eyes and easy smile stir up all the feelings she thought she’d left behind.
Nate is back to make it up to Sydney, but can she forgive him for all the heartbreak he caused? And it’s not only about her – Sydney is a single mother to Robby, her whole world, and she won’t let just anyone into their lives. Can she trust that Nate has really changed?
As if worrying about Nate wasn’t enough, a new development threatens Starlight Cottage, the safe haven that saved her when she had nothing else. Can Nate and Sydney overcome their past to save Firefly Beach and the house that holds so many memories for them? Or will the town they adore, and the love they have for one another, be lost forever?

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Thank you to Bookouture for letting me take part in this tour and for my copy of this book via Netgalley. I really enjoyed the first book in this series and I was very excited to return to Firefly Beach. Even though this is the second book you could read both as standalone.

The story begins with Hallie and Ben’s wedding but our main character this time is Sydney Flynn, Hallie’s sister. Sydney was in the first book and I remember thinking I hope she has a story one day. And, now we have it! Sydney had her heartbroken years ago and she’s never recovered. While she married someone else she never got over her first love Nate. At times I found Sydney to be slightly irritating and irrational but she has a good heart. She just wants to protect her son and her heart.

Nate Henderson is a man full of regrets. That day he left Sydney is the biggest one. He thought he was helping her but he didn’t realise he did the opposite. Nate never stopped loving Sydney. Nate is an easy man to fall in love with. He is charming, charismatic and gorgeous. A dangerous combination but an oh so welcome one! I admit it! I fell for him.

I adore the location of this book. The little village with its cute coffee shop and juice bar. I SO want to go visit. It just sounds so romantic. This book is a perfect escape from the world right now. Whether you are in rain or shine Firefly Beach will be waiting to greet you with open arms.

About Jenny Hale

When I graduated college, one of my friends said, “Look out for this one; she’s going to be an author one day.” Despite being an avid reader and a natural storyteller, it wasn’t until that very moment that the idea of writing novels occurred to me.

Sometimes our friends can see the things that we can’t.

While I didn’t start straight away, that comment sowed a seed and several years, two children, and hundreds of thousands of words later, I completed a novel that I felt was worthy of publication. The result is Coming Home for Christmas, a heart-warming story about friends, family, and the magic of love at Christmas.

I released my second book, Love Me for Me, this past summer, and my next novel, A Christmas to Remember is out now.

When I’m not writing, I’m a District Teacher of English to Speakers of Other Languages, a mother of two boys, and a wife to a very supportive husband.

Emma

2 responses to “Blog Tour Review: The House on Firefly Beach

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.