Blog Tour Review: Why She Died

Posted 1st June 2020 by Emma in Reviews / 1 Comment

Blog Tour Review: Why She Died

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

Blog Tour Review: Why She DiedWhy She Died by J.G. Roberts
Also by this author: Little Girl Missing, What He Did
Series: Detective Rachel Hart #3
Also in this series: Little Girl Missing, What He Did
on 29th May 2020
Pages: 270
Goodreads
Amazon

It was a person after all, but she was suspended in mid-air. Abi’s heart began to thump against her ribcage as the full horror of what she was seeing became apparent. Her shrill scream pierced the silence, startling birds into taking flight. ‘Help me!’ she cried. ‘Somebody please help!’
When beautiful and bright Hannah is late for their morning run, her best friend Abi thinks nothing of it. Hannah isn’t always that reliable – she’s probably just overslept.
But as Abi runs through the woods, following the same route she always does, she is greeted by a horrifying sight: Hannah’s body, swaying in the breeze.
Detective Rachel Hart is called to the scene. Something seems wrong from the start. Hannah’s friends and family insist that she had everything to live for, and no one has a bad word to say about her. But when murder is confirmed, and Rachel starts digging, she soon realises that there were plenty of people with reasons to want Hannah dead.
Then a second woman is found strangled in the same woods, and everything Rachel thought is thrown into doubt. Is there a serial killer at work?
Rachel is determined to find answers before another life is lost – all the time unaware that the killer’s sights are focussed firmly on her.
Can Rachel unravel the deadly game before she walks into a trap?
A breathtakingly twisty thriller for fans of Rachel Abbott, Cara Hunter and Angela Marsons.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Thank you to Bookouture for letting me take part in this tour and for letting me take part in this tour. I really enjoyed the two previous books in this series so I was very excited to see what happens next. While this is the third in the series you can read them as standalones. I would, however, recommend reading the whole series as they are such good stories and each one gets better and better.

This story is twofold. We have the case oh Hannah Longcross as well as the more personal story of DCI Hart. The case of Hannah Longcross is a rather twisty one. There were lots of red herrings in this case. I thought I had the case all figured out and then it turned out I was completely wrong! The personal story is very interesting but I won’t say much on this one as I don’t want to spoil it but it is a very good story.

Julia did an excellent job of weaving the two stories together. The pace was good and flicked between the two stories in a way that kept you hooked and wanting to know what happens with both stories. If you love a book full of twists, turns, lies and revenge then this is a book for you.

About J.G. Roberts

Julia was born in West Bridgford, Nottinghamshire, and began her career as a professional singer/dancer. This enabled her to travel the world in her late teens storing up experiences she has since included in her writing.

Following roles as a hostess on The Price is Right and a member of the Beadle’s About ‘hit squad’ in the 1980s, she became a TV Presenter and filmed features for Sky Sports before launching the QVC shopping channel in 1993 where she still presents today. Having always wanted to write, she penned her first book, a memoir sold on QVC, in 2013 and has since written four full length novels, two novellas and several short stories.

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

One response to “Blog Tour Review: Why She Died

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.